We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First try of sushi without soy sauce!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bowl Asian Bistro

Red Bowl Asian Bistro
2645 Whiskey Rd, Aiken, SC 29803-8075
803-226-9888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 137 restaurants in Aiken
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First try of sushi without soy sauce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I usually slather my sushi with soy sauce; not here. Their speciality rolls are wonderful! Love the appetizers and the stir fry meals. The kids love the sesame chicken!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    12
    16
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best Asian food in Aiken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food selection and quality is the best. Friendly wait staff and owners. I have visited this restaurant many times eating in , as well as take out. Most recent visit last week with an out of town family member, was again an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our office ordered takeout for a Friday meeting. I went to pick it up at the promised time and was waiting in lobby for order to be completed. There were other customers waiting to be seated. No one was assisting them. All of the sudden a loud argument broke out in the kitchen with two people screaming at each other which could be heard at the front door. Foul language was being yelled and servers were coming out of the kitchen talking about how this was "another day in paradise". The manager came out and brought our order to me. I made a comment about the loud argument...which it turns out the yelling was between her and a chef. It was very unprofessional. Our food order was not correct, but I left with it anyway. Not returning to this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“If you are in the mood for Asian - this is the right place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had a hankering for Asian on a business trip to Aiken and Red Bowl hit the spot. Is it the best - no, but it is not bad either.

The service leaves a bit to be desired, but the food quality and preparation was good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good sushi, looooong wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The sushi special (half price from 4 to 6 PM) is a great deal, and the sushi was pretty good. Our waiter did everything he could to make our visit as pleasant as possible. But we waited over an hour after ordering for our food, and we were not the only table with that problem. Interestingly, there was one booth that received dish after dish without delay, while most other patrons just waited. The problem is fairly obviously in the kitchen. I hope they solve the problem soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bowl Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Bowl Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bowl Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.