We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate

The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate
221 Greenville St. NW, Parking on corner of Greenville St.& Edgefield Ave., Aiken, SC 29801 (Formerly Rosehill Stables Restaurant)
+1 (803) 648-1181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Aiken
Cuisines: American, German, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: After nearly three years of extensive renovations to make the one-time outbuilding a warm and habitable place for diners, The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate opened the fall of 2009. Outdoor dining amenities include a patio, pavilion and beer garden where guests can enjoy special events and overflow during the warmer summer months.The Dinner menu of regional American cuisine, freshly prepared with premium ingredients featuring seafood, steaks, and pork dishes. A menu is available for casual dining in the bar, screened porch, patio and beer garden.
Clemson, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is amazing. It's an old estate dating back to the 'winter colony' when the elite used to come south to Aiken for the winter. The restaurant is in what used to be the stables and it's been beautifully restored. You can grab a drink at the bar and then wander throughout the grounds which include 11 buildings (just to give you an idea of how big the place is). If you went to Yale be sure to ask about the Oak tree that the university gifted to the previous owners. You're likely to meet the current owner and his manager. They are both incredibly sweet and will tell you everything you want to know. Everyone that works there is really nice and they'll make you feel right at home. There's a lovely patio with music on the weekends. My shrimp salad was good but honestly I was more blown away by the experience. I loved it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    6
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had dinner here several nights ago and it was fantastic! The grounds are gorgeous and the the atmosphere in the restaurant is unique and relaxing. The food was outstanding (I had the wienerschnitzel) and service impeccable. The best thing about the place are the owners Steve and Eva. They are such warm and friendly people and make you feel at home.
Cannot say enough about the place and cannot wait until I get back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Special luncheon for Midlands British Car Club...Excellent food served buffet style...Service was very good...Owner shared history of the restaurant and Rose Hill Estates. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you looking for German or Duck, Your in Luck.!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Tonight Debbie & I went to The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estates. This place is not only gorgeous, it's food is fabulous. We're both 54yrs old & Debbie never had German food. I talked her into trying their Jäger Schnitzels and, I order Duck. We started our evening with a cocktail & fried green tomatoes & a German salad & house Bread. Once Kena brought this out just the appearance was 5 stars. After we tasted these appetizers I was really starting get excited about our main entrées. Well I'm here to tell you they sure didn't disappoint. Debbie could believe how good Schnitzel are & I still can't believe that was the best Duck I ever ate. This food was to perfection & the atmosphere was very romantic & mesmerizing. To top it off with great service form Kena & a visit from the owner. This is a first class act Restaurant. Wyatt Earp

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed a very quiet intimate dinner at The Stables. Service was excellent and we loved the attention and the atmosphere. Our dinner was very good and we would love to go back. We did walk the grounds and met the owner. He could not have been nicer or more welcoming. We would highly recommend going!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate also viewed

 

Been to The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.