We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Say No...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1002 Monterey Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-2107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Aiken
Wiehle, VA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just Say No...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second place? The height of optimism! The only plus sides are the front desk staff. (Especially, the young lady on the overnight shift Friday night/Saturday Morning. The Saturday daytime and Sunday morning desk staff are also good) and the breakfast. OTOH, the down sides are numerous. First, this place is tough to find at night while driving safely. Second, the TV reception was terrible. (Room 103) The picture was the snowiest I'd seen in ages in any hotel. Third, whomever works overnight on Saturday nights needs to "walk the hall" regarding things like parties, loud TV's, etc. Most of us who stay in motels are there to sleep, Having stayed in Aiken many times over the years, I know that the locals go to the motels to "party". (I'm being charitable and polite...) The music, talking and TV were joined by people knocking on my room door overnight! This went on from about 1:00 AM and finally died-out by 2:30 AM. When I mentioned the noise on checking out Sunday morning, the only response was "sorry... there was a party in 102"... Pity they didn't try to do anything about it when the party was going on! Had it not been for the thin walls, I would've called and complained about the noise. Perhaps to Aiken DPS as it seemed the hotel was unable (unwilling?) to do anything about it. The sad part is, until the last night, this would've been a 4-star review. However, I realize that the hotels in Aiken have to cater to the locals as opposed to the visitors, as that is their marketplace and are thus reluctant to anger their "regular customers". However, I chose this motel based on its TripAdvisor rating and reviews. Thus, I'll be more careful in the future.

Room Tip: Pick a room at any other hotel or motel, Just not this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad P, Owner at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel. It is guests like you that give us the information we need to improve. It was kind of you to compliment our staff and our breakfast.

We apologize for the poor TV reception and maintenance has been notified of the problem. There is just no excuse for our lack of attention on the night of the disturbance. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we are sincerely sorry for your experience. We want you to know that this was an exception and not normally what goes on at the Sleep Inn of Aiken.

Please consider visiting us again and allowing us the opportunity to show our better side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
9
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family recently stayed at the sleep inn while our daughter was playing in a softball tournament. The hotel was really clean and the staff very friendly and helpful! This hotel is located near many restaurants as well as the mall. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a great time at the Sleep Inn in Aiken. Very clean and up to date hotel. Josh and the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Good location near Aiken Mall. Easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stay at the sleep inn often when i come into town for work. It is always very clean and comfortable and the staff is always friendly, John at the front desk is very helpful! Also, the continental breakfast is pretty good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed here several times for overnight business travel and have no complaints. Happy hour is great with 2 complimentary beers, god popcorn and cookies. Josh at the front desk is very curteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is pet friendly. There are plenty of nice places that are well lit and available on the hotel grounds to comfortably walk your dog. Donna at the front desk is very welcoming and will go over and beyond your expectations to make sure that you have everything to be comfortable and all the information that you might need about the hotel, the area, etc. She is a customer service professional. In the housekeeping department "Net" will make sure that your room is clean and you have everything that you need to be comfortable, she also loves dogs(so she stopped to pet my Boston Terrier which made me happy) and she is very friendly to everyone. There is a nice saltwater pool at this hotel and a tasty free breakfast for everyone. I was at this hotel for 3 weeks and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, nicely appointed room. Happy hour at the front desk from 5:30 to 7:30. 10% off at O'Charley's next door. Free use of Gold's Gym. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Overall, a really nice place to spend the night (or a few nights!) in Aiken. The complementary breakfast could have been better. Coffee, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt. Adequate but better off going to the Sonic right next door.

Room Tip: Third floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1002 Monterey Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-2107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aiken
#3 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the south side of Aiken near many restaurants, shopping and activities. Our service is second to none and our rooms are beautifully appointed. Our guests wake up to a continental breakfast including hot items such as Sausage patties, eggs and waffles between 6am-9am daily. At the end of the day, our guests are greeted to a complimentary Happy Hour with beer, wine and water, as well as freshly baked cookies and popcorn Monday-Thursday between 5:30-7:30pm. Gold's Gym is located a short walk from the hotel and our guests enjoy complimentary membership allowing use of ALL amenities offered. Our seasonal, outdoor swimming pool is open from 10am-10pm daily. The entire hotel is smoke free and there are designated smoking areas outside of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Aiken
Aiken Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.