We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere for whatever your function!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Willcox to your Saves list
The Willcox
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere for whatever your function!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Willcox is a fabulous all around inn/restaurant! They are capable of handling large parties for weddings (inside or outside), and can just as easily serve a table for two with the same great service. The managers and employees work extremely hard to make your visit one you will remember, and want to come back for.

Room Tip: Go with the top of the line Roosevelt room, or a smaller one for a bit of savings. Either way, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
72
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a repeat visit but the first under the new owner. The historic (FDR used to stay here as it has a private rail spur) Willcox has become the place to stay, eat and enjoy quality entertainment, from local talent to Juilliard ensembles. The large, recently renovated hotel rooms are nicely decorated and bedding comfortable. Food and drink are reasonably priced but upscale for the area. Will recommend to friends and family and will make it a regular stop. Most class you will find within 100+ miles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night and I so wished it was longer. This place is just sheer quality. The rooms are quaint, immaculate and welcoming. The entrance to the hotel is so pretty as is the reception/ lounge area. Love the cocktails and whilst I didn't eat here on this occasion I have done on a previous trip and it was great.
I look forward to returning and only hope it is soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to The Willcox after seeing the lovely website and reviews online. We were not disappointed. What a lovely historic hotel! Staff was very accommodating, the restaurant was amazing, the bar was great, I highly recommend. The room was very comfortable, clean and the continental breakfast is very nice. My husband and I enjoyed cozying up to the fireplace is the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickiew
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is our second stay at The Willcox and we have found our second home. Its like stepping into a great big hug. The staff are extraordinarily helpful,the beds are so comfortable that the owners Geoff and Shannon will arrange for you to buy one,the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the food is excellent. What more can we say except see you all next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came to Aiken to look at potentially moving here. What a wonderful city! The staff of the Wilcox was so helpful to us - any question no matter how trivial. The room was beautiful - and very comfortable. We had drinks at the bar a couple of times and we were treated like old friends. The restaurant was incredible. The location - in downtown Aiken - was so convenient. Just a warm, comfortable and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had never been to Aiken, SC and I didn't know what to book as there are no familiar hotels I usually stay (Marriott, Hilton). After seeing the reviews on this website, I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a throwback classic from decades ago but they keep it in good shape. It almost looks like a bed and breakfast but each room has its own hotel feel. The bed was very comfy and bed sheets/lining were top notch. The restaurant is excellent and service was very good overall. Only negative is that the rooms are not really set up for business travelers as the desk had no a/c outlets nearby. My rate also seemed a bit steep $185 per night for a small rural town, but considering the quality of all the other options around, it's reasonable. I'd most likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#10 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Address: 100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#6 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willcox 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 32 Best Hotel in The World ~ Travel + Leisure 2012 - The Willcox, a little hotel in a town that is the essence of the new South. Romantic, warm, extraordinarily comfortable and filled with a sense of history that takes you back to simpler times. Gracious, genteel, understated, yet sophisticated and hospitable, The Willcox is the quintessential Southern experience. Come and join us, we would love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willcox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.