We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel a short walk from town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Willcox to your Saves list
The Willcox
100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel a short walk from town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I have stayed twice at this gorgeous historic hotel. Once in June and again in October. I cannot wait to stay there again.
The entire staff is gracious and attentive.
Both of our rooms and the bathrooms were luxurious & spacious.
The entrance to the hotel is a large living room filled with comfy sofas and little nooks for privacy. A great place for an end of the night cocktail or glass of wine. On some evenings they have entertainment in the front entry room. It is festive without being loud. We enjoyed the entire experience.
The restaurant is amazing as well. We ate there both times and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The complimentary breakfast in the morning is a treat too.
I loved the pool too. The fountain is beautiful and whole enclosed area's atmosphere is very relaxing.
The hotel also has a small gym and salon.

Room Tip: Every room we've stayed in has been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
61
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Aiken was my childhood home. The building that houses the Willcox was in complete disrepair when I was growing up, a dilapidated but beautiful exterior and decayed interior.

It has been restored to a place with the grace and elegance I always thought it was meant to have. But still more, it's a place where people can laugh and share timeless moments.

Yes, the rooms are beautiful, the architecture memorable, the food delicious, and the staff hospitable. But at the end of the day, there is something magical about the Willcox that speaks to the fact that the sum is beyond the sum of its parts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a wonderful inn! It felt like a big, really nice bed and breakfast vs. a hotel. The lobby was a cozy living room we didn't want to leave. The continental breakfast was exceptional - yummy home-made muffins, yogurt, granola among other items. The rooms were the perfect size with beds that felt like clouds. The staff was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. And the location is perfectly located for the charm of Aiken. My group truly did not want to depart!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for a Wedding in September, and it was first rate all the way. From service, to the atmosphere/history, to the food, the Wilcox is an amazing spot. The staff was outstanding and accommodating. The history and atmosphere here are worth the price (FDR and Winston Churchill the among past guests). The lounge/lobby has comfortable chairs and couches...it's a perfect spot for a drink and some of the "petites" appetizer menu. Do yourself a favor, get the poutine with crisp fries and gravy. The rooms were very well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The staff really went out of there way to make sure everyone had a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at The Willcox while attending an Art Show opening with friends. Everything was outstanding from the room, lobby and dining experience. Staff was very attentive and food/wine was excellent. We would recommend The Willcox to anyone looking for a delightful visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhlhbh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Willcox. The service was excellent, the atmosphere enchanting and the food superb. We met friends there for a weekend in Aiken and all of us were delighted with this small hotel.

Room Tip: In the winter, choose a third floor room. In the summer, choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel doesn't have a lot of deluxe hotel amenities . If you want a big pool with bar service , not for you .The pool, work out area , and spa are very tiny . There is no business center . The lobby and restaurant bar areas are small as well . It is however very welcoming and the rooms spacious . The continental breakfast was very good , fresh muffins , cereals ,juices , bagels .The rooms were well maintained each night and the common areas spotless . The rooms might use a bit of updating , but overall a very enjoyable experience . True southern feel , subdued but very hospitable .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Address: 100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#2 Family Hotel in Aiken
#6 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 32 Best Hotel in The World ~ Travel + Leisure 2012 - The Willcox, a little hotel in a town that is the essence of the new South. Romantic, warm, extraordinarily comfortable and filled with a sense of history that takes you back to simpler times. Gracious, genteel, understated, yet sophisticated and hospitable, The Willcox is the quintessential Southern experience. Come and join us, we would love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willcox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.