We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Willcox to your Saves list
The Willcox
100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for a Wedding in September, and it was first rate all the way. From service, to the atmosphere/history, to the food, the Wilcox is an amazing spot. The staff was outstanding and accommodating. The history and atmosphere here are worth the price (FDR and Winston Churchill the among past guests). The lounge/lobby has comfortable chairs and couches...it's a perfect spot for a drink and some of the "petites" appetizer menu. Do yourself a favor, get the poutine with crisp fries and gravy. The rooms were very well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The staff really went out of there way to make sure everyone had a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
61
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at The Willcox while attending an Art Show opening with friends. Everything was outstanding from the room, lobby and dining experience. Staff was very attentive and food/wine was excellent. We would recommend The Willcox to anyone looking for a delightful visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhlhbh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Willcox. The service was excellent, the atmosphere enchanting and the food superb. We met friends there for a weekend in Aiken and all of us were delighted with this small hotel.

Room Tip: In the winter, choose a third floor room. In the summer, choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel doesn't have a lot of deluxe hotel amenities . If you want a big pool with bar service , not for you .The pool, work out area , and spa are very tiny . There is no business center . The lobby and restaurant bar areas are small as well . It is however very welcoming and the rooms spacious . The continental breakfast was very good , fresh muffins , cereals ,juices , bagels .The rooms were well maintained each night and the common areas spotless . The rooms might use a bit of updating , but overall a very enjoyable experience . True southern feel , subdued but very hospitable .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
487 helpful votes 487 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Beautiful bar, equestrian hangout. But the cocktails are terrible -- really bad Manhattan, no olives for your Martini -- try straight liquor, wine, or beer, and then you'll be happy.

We did not stay at the hotel, only had dinner (excellent food) and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A golf partner on a recent trip suggested we visit Aiken and based on the Tripadvisor reviews we decied to book The Willcox. We were not disappointed. The service and staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Good size rooms and comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was good and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The only suggestion we would have would be to serve drinks out by the pool. The hotel is a very short walk from the centre of town where there is a great atmosphere and lots of good restaurants and bars. We arrived on a Thursday and a local tradition is a jazz band in the hotel bar. A great way to start our visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had Heard of Aiken S.C a while ago but had not had the opportunity to make it there till now. I am a big fan of historical hotels and this one delivers. The room was spacious and had lots of natural light.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Address: 100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#2 Family Hotel in Aiken
#6 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 32 Best Hotel in The World ~ Travel + Leisure 2012 - The Willcox, a little hotel in a town that is the essence of the new South. Romantic, warm, extraordinarily comfortable and filled with a sense of history that takes you back to simpler times. Gracious, genteel, understated, yet sophisticated and hospitable, The Willcox is the quintessential Southern experience. Come and join us, we would love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willcox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.