We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aiken

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aiken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aiken
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Aiken
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be Warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a group tour to the Masters. Was checked into a room away from the main buiding and had the unfortunate pleasure of facing the car park and all its activity each night. The bathroom was filthy with the toilet seat being soiled from the previous guest and not cleaned. When I approached the staff they were apologetic however it seemed to be forgotten as nothing was done and the cleaning was left to myself. On the last day a $25 drink voucher was placed in my room as a token appology? Being Masters week there was no alternaive but to stay in this sad excuse for a hotel. This would have to be the worst hotel that I have ever had the unfortunate experiance to stay in, be warned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always unfortunate to hear about any of our guests having an unsatisfying experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were not happy with your room accommodations provided. After researching your stay, I found that the rooms were allocated prior to check-in by the tour group you traveled with. If an upgrade had been available, we would have gladly moved you. Unfortunately due to high occupancy during Masters Week, it was not an option. As for the cleanliness issue, the staff member who cleaned your room is no longer with our organization for obvious reasons. An oversight such as that by a housekeeper is absolutely unacceptable. The gift certificate was indeed a gesture of apology and I'm sorry if it added insult to injury.

Since your stay in April, we are under new general management. Your feedback was very helpful in updating housekeeping inspection procedures and guest issue resolution. Because of your feedback, we now have a better system of department accountability which ensures less errors by the staff. Although we are deeply sorry for your negative experience, we do appreciate your comments which have helped us improve overall efficiency at Hotel Aiken.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    11
    12
    18
See reviews for
10
20
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Came from West Palm Beach to visit old friends and couldn't have been more pleased! the Hotel is within walking distance to all shops and restaurants In Aiken. Britney at the desk was awesome and super friendly. the rooms in the main building were beautiful and very comfy!
I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: stay in the main building if you can. It is an old building and has only one elevator that has to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

First, let me say what is best about this hotel: LOCATION. It is in the heart of Aiken, which has a charming downtown area full of small shops, antiques, cafe's and restaurants. We very much enjoyed the convenience of walking to breakfast and dinner, as well as a little bit of shopping.

The emphasis at the Hotel Aiken is on the nightlife. There is live music every night which brings locals and visitors alike. The hotel also has both an indoor bar & lounge and outdoor "tiki bar." The pool has been filled in though, and traded for a random cement "courtyard" with a large, movie-screen type TV on one wall. The courtyard reminds me more of an outdoor basketball court than a courtyard though.

Our room was not in the main hotel building, which is over 100 years old. We stayed in the adjacent building, which is newer, but only relatively speaking. The rooms had outdoor entries, opening up to the parking and side street. I'm guessing that the rooms have not been renovated since the 1980's? The bathtub had stains that probably won't come off, but the shower curtain was new & clean. The room was very dark without the curtains open. Overall, it was very poorly lit and could have been much cleaner, but you get the sense that there's only so much cleaning you can do with the age of the carpet, bedding, furnishings & fixtures.
We were with a larger group, and we all stayed in the adjacent buildings, and most everyone agreed about the accommodations: very very dated, and questionable cleanliness, but great location.

If someone had loads of money to spend on it, this could be a great hotel with a lot of character and charm, but it needs more work than the owners can afford or want to spend, apparently.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more subject to the all night noise coming from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stay here regularly when we come to town. We love a historical hotel with a happy buzz around the place. The staff are always welcoming and take care of our extra needs. It has a couple fabulous bars on site and the rooms remind us of the classic London hotels. Best location in Aiken with access to everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We are Aiken locals who have stayed here a few times when we have wanted to enjoy our hometown from the downtown area. This hotel is centrally located in the downtown district and within walking distance to great shopping, dining, and nightlife. The building is one of the oldest downtown and has been modernized through the years. It needs work to really fill it's true potential, but for the pricing you cannot beat the location. The staff was very friendly and we have enjoyed multiple stay both in the main building and in the newer annex. If you come expecting a five star experience for a two star price, you will be disappointed. But it's a nice place with great history and a very good location. Enjoy the price and enjoy downtown Aiken.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Sc
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel Aiken is a below average hotel in downtown Aiken but has a fantastic location. The rooms were worn and run down, and the hotel bar is quite loud. That said the hotel is close to great restaurants and bars. This is one of the better locations in Aiken and for that the Hotel Aiken can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

For the price and location, the Hotel Aiken was extremely satisfactory. Free parking is available in front of the hotel and there are many restaurants, shops and attractions within walking distance. We had read the reviews prior to our visit, so we knew that the bar was a popular night spot. We were not disturbed by the nightly activity. Aiken is a charming town, and we would stay at the Hotel Aiken again.

Room Tip: Third floor on the Richland Avenue side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aiken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.