We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was so good we went back for dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Diner Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aston Diner Family Restaurant
3601 Concord Rd., Corner of Thomas and Concord, Aston, PA
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 38 restaurants in Aston
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Waltham, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch was so good we went back for dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My daughter and I were in Aston in July for the Liberty Open skating competition, and since it was our first time in the area, scoped out local restaurants close to the rink online before we arrived. Had been impressed by the selections online, and when we arrived - tired and hungry - the in person ordering did not disappoint. Service was friendly and efficient, and the two different wraps we ordered we ended up sharing - our own combo plates! Veggie wrap was tender and well seasoned, and the chicken wrap (there are several varieties) was cooked and seasoned perfectly. Yummy home made soup (you choose soup or salad) - chicken veg with farfalle - was brothy and not overloaded with pasta. Relatives met up with us later in the week and we returned for dinner. Everyone had something different and it didn't matter what it was - salad, wrap, roast beef dinner - each was prepared well and left us so satisfied there was no room to sample desserts from the old fashioned diner dessert carousel. Next time? Hope so!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    4
    9
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boothwyn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Place to Eat & Chat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Aston Diner is a family oriented restaurant with great meals and great prices and home cooking. The menu is like a book with many, many choices. They have breakfast, lunch & dinner, they even have small portion meals on the menu. The crabcake dinner is to die for and also the crabcake sandwich is great, their hamburgers a to be eaten with both hands, the salads are hugh and very filling. No matter what meal you order you leave with leftovers. Besides the regular meals, small portion meals they also have kids meals, so there is no reason to walk away from the Aston Diner hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Mediocre Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Okay, so this place has been open almost a half year--plenty of time to be up and properly running. Wait staff were fine, but the food was less than average. I had a breakfast "special" that was around $6 and a side order of scrapple. The portions on the platter were small and the $3.50 side order of scrapple consisted of ONE dried out piece. Needless to say, my first and last visit there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We decided to try this for the first time, and drove over from Brookhaven. Had to turn around in an apt. complex on Concord Road in order to get in. We got there fairly early so the place was not that busy. The only hamburgers they offered were 8 oz, which is too big for me. they need to offer a smaller burger. The server also said they were frozen. I ordered the Tilapia Francaise special over pasta. It actually was very good, but the portion was too big. I took half home. I don't understand this fixation on huge portions everywhere. It's not necessary. My husband ordered Chicken Croquettes. (He wanted to see if they were homemade. We didn't ask,but he didn't think so. The rolls were not that great. We both had the house salad, which was fresh. the Vinaigrette was good. I would have liked a selection of lettuce in the salad which only had iceberg. The help was constantly asking if everything was okay. I'm willing to try it again for breakfast or a club.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“aston family diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Typical diner food. Okay if you order sandwiches or burgers. Place is a little cramped and you feel rushed. Service is quick.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aston Diner Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aston Diner Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Diner Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.