We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the theater....the restaurant not so much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allen Theatre and MJ's Coffee House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Allen Theatre and MJ's Coffee House
36 East Main Street, Route 422, (Exit 85A, I-81), Annville, PA 17003
717-867-4766
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Annville
Attraction details
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the theater....the restaurant not so much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We love going to see a movie at the Allen, however have been disappointed in the food. Basic sandwich fare and the coffee drinks are average. The staff is very slow and we have often been left waiting to order while staff could clearly be seen chatting behind the counter. We will return because of the theater but will most likely get snacks only if time is tight.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why can't I give it 6 dots?? The most classy movie theater we've ever been to, and reasonable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

SIMPLY THE BEST PLACE TO ENJOY A MOVIE, PERIOD!! It is not a mega-plex, quite the opposite in every regard. It must be experienced to understand. Come early - enjoy MJ's coffeehouse - deli sandwiches, desserts, coffees&teas. Also traditional movie theater menu. relax to live entertainment while enjoying your evening. When time for your showing, mosey into the theater. Sat nite shows have a live performer, often playing the organ, keeping the crowd entertained prior to the movie (no canned movie trivia crap). Owner is the MC and gives upcoming events and announcements prior to the movie. LOVE IT!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's just a place to go and satisfy hunger and thirst if no one else is open. Coffee was not that great. Little pricey desserts and coffee.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little shop and Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stopped here for sandwiches, desert and coffee on different occasions. Love the atmoshpere and the food. Also caught a movie one night at the Allen. The Sandwiches were very good as was the deserts. Not a huge selection, but for a coffee shop they do great. Laughing Sally is a little creepy, but we did not even notice her until our second visit (you have to look up!). They also have icecream, but we have not tried that yet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A Real Jewel The Best Place to see a movie in south central Pa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place just makes us feel good. It is nostalgia at it's best. The old time feel and the friendly feel of the small town it is in are perfect. Great for seeing a movie- and it has a really good coffee house and restaurant attached. The food quality is really good and the prices are really fair. A GREAT VALUE. The soups are great and the sandwichs and salads are better than any theater of it's kind we have ever found. Just have a hot dog- probably the best you will ever have at a movie theater. The staff is friendly- wait to hear them welcome you to the theatre and thank you for coming before the movie starts. What a great feel.

Then there is the COWBOY MOVIE SATURDAYS in February. We saw Thomas Edison's The Great Train Robbery complete with live music by accomplished cellist and flautis. Then you will see vintage 16 mm Lash Larue, Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, Rex Allen movies- two of them and it is 5 bucks. Wear your western wear if you wish everyone else does.

They have many special events so look at their web site and make your plan to attend- you will glad you did.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen Theatre and MJ's Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Allen Theatre and MJ's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allen Theatre and MJ's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.