We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First times a Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambler Theater

Ambler Theater
108 E. Butler Ave., Ambler, PA 19002
215-345-7855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Ambler
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ambler Theater, built in 1928, is a modified Spanish design. It is a nonprofit community-owned theater with approximately 6,000 members. The theater seats 140 and 110 in 2 of the auditoriums. Renovations to the third auditorium were completed in 2007 and it seats 270. The theater features dolby digital sound, stadium seating, handicap access and hearing impaired services.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
267 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“First times a Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I loved this little theater! I cannot wait to go back. It is very charming, small and comfortable. My first time here so I did not know what to expect...and I was very impressed. Not sure there is a bad seat in the house. We saw "12 Dates Before Xmas" and we loved it! After the theater there are lots of cute restaurants in walking distance. Parking is in a public lot across the street and behind those stores. It is a pleasure to not have to go into Center City to enjoy the Theater!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is a lovingly restored theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We saw our first movie at the Ambler theater. This theater was built around 1922 and was restored a number of years ago. At present it is owned and run by a non profit organization and shows a mix of main stream and independent films. It also has many special programs for various age groups. The theater is beautiful. It has a large outer lobby, a restored ticket booth, a beautiful inner lobby and nice restrooms. I was very impressed by the auditorium -- they had comfortable stadium seating and a reasonably large screen. The sound was excellent. They have made the transition to digital. There is parking nearby. A nice theater; a great experience and not that much further from my house then it is to the King of Prussia multiplexes or Center City Philadelphia. Their web site is informative.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ambler Theater is a wonderful independent theater in the heart of Ambler, PA.
It offers the viewer a unique selection of some independent films as well as some of the more popular movies on the public circuit. This theater was brought back to its original architecture with the help of many loyal patrons.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned theatre experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best indie and first run movies shown in a restored Art Deco theatre. Tickets are inexpensive (join as a member and they are even less) and the popcorn and candy is reasonable. Afterwards, walk around Ambler and enjoy dinner at one of the many fun restaurants or water ice, ice cream or gelato at several local spots.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My Favorite Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Ambler Theater shows a wide variety of films, from more mainstream films to indie releases and new documentaries. They also have special events--in the summer, they have weekly screenings of classic movies and older blockbusters, which i absolutely love. For special events, the theater can get packed so get there early. The theaters are always clean, and the building is beautiful inside. A huge plus is that the concessions are actually affordable! So nice to go see a movie and be able to afford popcorn to go with it. Overall, it's a treat to have a small theater offering such a variety of movies

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambler Theater also viewed

 

Been to Ambler Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambler Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.