We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, surprise for price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Altoona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 Altoona
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1500 Sterling Street, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Altoona
centralpa.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean, surprise for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Needed a room to stay for night. Gentleman was very helpful, price was right. Room was clean and efficient, we've stayed at higher priced motels and were disappointed with the cleanliness. Did just great in a pinch. Had a great rest, would stop here again.At $54.00 ,can't be beat for value

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
10
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This motel right off i99 is awesome. I spent $63(this included tax!) and got 2 queens. It is near everything. Very clean!! No complains. Kudos to the gentlemen at the main desk. Very polite and considerate, Pool is great. Wifi is available for a $3 fee per day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Even at $62, I feel we paid too much. The room was extremely spartan with cob webs with spiders hanging from the ceiling. The blankets were stained with holes and I'm not sure the last time that it was cleaned. The sink was unusable since the faucet was too close to the sink. The toilet had NO pressure and could not even flush the toilet paper. The ONLY redeeming quality of the hotel was that it accepted dogs (at no extra charge, which was a nice surprise), and they had no reports of bed bugs. The best part of our visit was when we left.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

On par for brand, no frills, reasonably clean and well kept older single story with exterior entries, and small seasonal pool. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions, with good freeway access. Check out Boyer Candy Company factory store, 821 17th Street Altoona PA. www.boyercandies.com/

Room Tip: Next to freeway on hillside with multiple terraced complexes. Avoid rooms on end closest to freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was a great surprise this motel 6 had swimming pool (nice), large rooms, bathtub, one story. Very clean, and nice people running it. Towels and pillows still smaller than most, but bigger than the normal motel 6 size. Good price for area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stay here a couple times a year. Although I think I always know what to expect from this Motel 6, I didn't expect to play Plummer at midnight. I checked in the motel earlier in the day, than didn't return until around midnight where we found out the toilet didn't operate well. The front desk gave me an option of changing rooms or pick-up a plunger. If I hadn't been unpacked, I would have rather changed rooms, but I chose to plunge, which I'm not good at.

Other than the toilet issue, everything else in the room was fine. I expect to return here again in the future, unless Super 8's rate comes down a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

It has everything that you need. Not that flashy or new but it's cheap, clean and conveniently located. At the end of the day it is an older Motel 6, don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
Be sure to check out the Eat'n Park next door. It's a decent feed and their breakfast buffet is worth a mention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6
Address: 1500 Sterling Street, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.