We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2906 Pleasant Valley Blvd., Altoona, PA 16601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Altoona
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After seeing so many negative reviews of the Econo Lodge, I had to set the record straight. The room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. WiFi worked great and there was a basic continental breakfast which was typical of motels at this price range. If you want an inexpensive place to stay when passing through Altoona, the Econo Lodge is fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    9
    17
See reviews for
12
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cheap, old and run-down. Very much like most of Altoona, especially the downtown area. The hotel is in a sketchy, not very well-lit area, back a bit from the blvd. Sure, the price is low ($49 something) but after seeing the room, I do believe I was overcharged! Check-in was a tedious task, the clerk (who was dressed as if she worked at a gas station) could not figure out which "buttons" to press on the keyboard!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This Econo Lodge could use an update, carpets are old and bit dirty, front desk staff are friendly, breakfast is bit below average, bottom line cheap price, location is OK. Altoona does not have much to begin with.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I called from the road to book a room and was not able to as their computers were down. When I arrived I was quoted a price of $49.00 plus tax. Since I planned to leave early and just needed a place to sleep, I took the room. As for the room, it was gross. The air conditioner worked but I could not run it because the fan sounded like pots and pans banging together. With 100 degree weather, the room was like a sauna. The blanket had burn holes in it and the sheet had stains of some sort. Worst yet, I was awoken at 3 AM by what appeared to be a cockroach running over my head which I promptly squashed. Since I would no longer be sleeping, I decided to check out at 4 AM. This too was a problem as I had to argue with the clerk over the now charge of $54.95 plus tax which I paid as I could not stand another minute of this disgusting hotel. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked this hotel over the net, and did not have any illusions about the quality, we were moving to Canada, and just wanted a place to sleep! the biggest attraction was that the hotel allowed pets without any additional fee.

The initial impression was negative and I did not feel safe, but seeing some couples and families I felt confident. The rooms were spacious and fairly clean, there was a refrigerator and a microwave. Overall everything worked. The breakfast was good enough to give you the boost you need in the morning.

I would say, this place is good enough if you want a cheap and functional hotel. I would not recommend this hotel if you are on a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week and I was asked to come to this site to give my opinion. As far as my stay it was well worth the money I paid for it. I was checked both in and out by a front desk clerk Tanya and she went far and beyond to make me and my wife welcomed and gave us a warm good bye. The rooms are old but very clean. The breakfast is basic but again, for the price, I can not complain. My father in law is in a home in Altoona and we will now be staying there when we come to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

The management is terrible. The person who checked me in didn't know what they were doing so they under charged my card. Then after I checked out they charged me for the balence which is fine.. then the next week comes and they charge me again for the whole balence. So now I'm trying to get my money back and they are arguing with me about how to get it back that its nothing but the banks mistake. This woman is literally yelling at me saying its not her fault when all I need to correct the problem is a note on their letterhead faxed to the bank. And then she refuses to give me the number for the owner and refuses to let me talk to someone else saying that's she too busy to talk to me and hangs up on me. Not to mention that this is the second time I've dealt with this same "manager". Never again at the econolodge in altoona pa.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2906 Pleasant Valley Blvd., Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Altoona
Altoona Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.