We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Altoona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Altoona to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Altoona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3306 Pleasant Valley Blvd, Altoona, PA 16602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is very roomy - even the halls seems extra wide. The hotel was immaculate, no matter where we visited inside. The entrance is very nice with a cozy fireplace, which was welcoming when arrived on a snowy/icy evening. The staff were very accommodating, willing to offer any help they could. There was plenty of parking space, and there is a Perkins Restaurant just across the parking lot.
The beds were very comfortable; the mattresses firm, offering us a wonderful night's sleep. It was great to see a refrigerator in the room, which was stocked with goodies and two bottles of water.
The only problem in the room was the sink area. In most Holiday Inn Express', sinks are located in the room with the commode and shower. This was in the same room with the beds, but the issue was there was little counter space. It was just enough for the coffee pot and sink, and a toothbrush, but that was all. For a woman with toiletries, it meant taking items individually from the suitcase to the counter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and value the insight that they offer. I agree with you 100%, our bathroom countertops do not offer enough space, this is one of the many improvments that we plan to make during our upcoming rennovation. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our hotel overall. Hopefully on a return trip, you will have more than enough space for all of the things that we as women need when traveling. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    69
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
69
50
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week and found the hotel to be one of the best we've stayed in. The staff were friendly and happy to help and recommended several popular sites to visit. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice and the bedrooms were very spacious.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff love to entertain our guests and help them to find reasons to love Altoona! I hope that you enjoyed the many wonderful attractions and historical elements offered by our region. I would encourage you to visit again during the fall when the leaves begin to change into beautiful shades of crimson, orange and yellow. We hope to see you again on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, room is large, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast is good and there are a lot of options too choose from.. Staff is very friendly, all at a bargain price. For the money you can not go wrong at the holiday inn!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt that for the price you could not go wrong staying with us. It seems that they price of everything these days is growing faster then our paychecks, we are happy to offer a quality stay at a fair price. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've stayed here a few times when out visiting friends who relocated to Altoona. I've stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Expresses, most in more busy areas, and Ihave to say, this was the best I've stayed at. The room was incredibly clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was very good,

The people who worked there were very helpful in giving us directions and recommending places to eat (on our first visit, our friends were still getting the lay of the land and didn't know a lot of places)..

I don't think we paid over $110/night. It was well worth it, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Oh, and they have a discount program with a number of restaurants in the area, you show them your key card and you get a %age off your bill. Not bad. There's free coffee in the lobby too, but we love Sheetz coffee and go whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. Being in a new area can be challenging and something a simple as a good dinner referral can make a big difference. We look forward to seeing you again. We will keep brewing our coffee in the unlikely event that Sheetz runs out! I recommend their marshmallow mocha, yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here in business and I can only say it was amazing. I walked in and they were having a Hawaiian themed party in the conference room, I and some other guests entered some giveaway contests and had some great food. I also had the chance to meet the owner of this hotel Greg. He was the most gracious host ever, really a great guy and he explained to me that this was a family run business, that made me feel good about spending my money there.

The rooms were spotless. Clean beyond clean, the bedding was very comfortable and the TV's were all brand new. The cafeteria had an amazing free breakfast, buffet style but always freshly stocked with almost anything you could imagine. I will stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have shared your sentiments with our owner, Greg. He appreciated hearing such kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed our Luau event. We host several themed nights during the year and hope that you are able to join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having stayed at many HI Express properties, this is certainly one of the best. Immaculate....very clean breakfast area....and very convenient location with plenty of choices for dinner,all giving a 10 0/0 discount.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I have shared your comments with our harding working breakfast staff. They were delighted to hear that you took notice of their efforts. I am pleased that you consider us to be one of the best Holiday Inn hotels that you have stayed at. That is a wonderful compliment to receive. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our second stay in this HI Express. We came back because it is conventienly located, clean, a good deal, the breakfast offers a really nice variety, and the staff are friendly and helpful. As with during our first stay, we did not have our Priority Club Member number with us and the staff were quick to offer to look it up. They had a great attitude and didn't act like we were causing them extra work. The woman who maintained the breakfast and breakfast area had a great attitude as well and was incredibly friendly. The hotel is near lots of restaurants and shopping, and the highway for transportation ease. My only concern was the trash pick up at 11pm from the business in the adjacent parking lot. I will ask for rooms on the other end of the hotel in the future to avoid this again. The room was clean and nicely stocked withe towels. We appreciated having the fridge and microwave in the room. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoonaexpress, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Altoona, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I love to hear from our repeat visitors, I take it as s sign that we are doing something right. We try very hard to ensure high levels of quality service and hire a staff that loves hospitality. I have shared your remarks with our breakfast staff, she smiled even bigger after hearing your compliments. Safe travels & we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
6.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#4 of 12 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
1.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#9 of 12 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Altoona

Address: 3306 Pleasant Valley Blvd, Altoona, PA 16602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Holiday Inn Express - Altoona, PA is designed so that you can relax. We know that all you really need is a place to be yourself. Contemporary hospitality and our friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Altoona Hotel Altoona
Holiday Inn Altoona
Altoona Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.