We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Diner in Downtown Altoona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom & Joe's Restaurant

Tom & Joe's Restaurant
1201 13th Ave, Altoona, PA 16601-3433
814-943-3423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in Altoona
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Bedford, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vintage Diner in Downtown Altoona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great breakfast & lunch specials, good prices, & quick, friendly service in a homey atmosphere. Love the Greek salad, ham pot pie, pork & kraut. Put a quarter in the juke box at your booth and savor the 50's!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great spot for that old time experience. I have been dining there for about fifty years.George and crew are a treat for all who visit.My grand kids just love it they always sit at the counter and watch Georgie cook the eggs.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, old-school breakfast/brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I loved this place. It's a classic Altoona restaurant with a lot of history and charm. Service is edgy and fun. Brunch was delicious and my husband had one of the best buffalo chicken sandwiches yet. I love the diner atmosphere. While sitting and eating here, you can imagine the bustling Altoona back in the day. Can't go wrong here. It's been around this long for a reason!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must in Altoona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a great diner with lots of diner atmosphere--the cook keeps a constant banter going and wait staff are lively and authentic as well. The food and service are outstanding. I frequented this place 40+ years ago and it hasn't changed much in the interim. Try the french fries with gravy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the Altoona PA area for a couple of nights. Tom & Joe's was recommended by a local acquaintance to us - and they were spot on in their recommendation. Wonderful food. Great customer service. And a very lively, friendly atmosphere. These two lads from England could not have been happier. Tom & Joe's is a must if you are staying in Altoona PA. You will not regret it, I promise.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom & Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom & Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom & Joe's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.