We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tough steak” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
100 Sheraton Dr, Altoona, PA 16601-9353
814-941-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 143 Restaurants in Altoona
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Villages
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tough steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Both my wife's and my steak were tough. I had a filet and I thought it was impossible for that cut of meat to be tough, but it was. Either they are buying the cheepest meat possible or I was not served what I ordered. My wife ordered the sirloin, very tough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food is simply great. Especially the Alice Springs chicken and the pumpernickel bread. Sometimes seating can be a problem on Friday night.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just "Average" Food and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I ordered a lunch special of a half Filet Focaccia Sandwich and a cup of clam chowder my husband ordered a steak. They brought out a fresh baked mini bread loaf that was awesome. My soup was brought out at the same time. I wanted my soup to be served with my half sandwich so I made my best attempt at waiting. The server came by 2 or 3 times stating the our meals would be out soon but it was quite a long wait. My soup was cold when my sandwich arrived. The server should have asked when my order was taken if I wanted my soup brought out early or with my half sandwich.

The chowder was tasty but extremely peppery. I like spicy foods so I was okay with it but it might not be appropriate for everyone. The half sandwich was small and bland and not at all what I expected.

The restaurant was clean and pleasant. The staff was nice though the service was slow and additional training is recommended. Prices were average. Check the hours of operation before traveling because they don't serve lunches except weekends...we found this out after a long drive to get to Outback a while back. I was really disappointing that a large chain like this would have more accommodating schedule.

I won't likely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little steak great taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had the 6 ounce outback steak with rice and veggie medley and it was very tasty and reasonably priced. They need to get some craft beers. They best beer they had was Sam Adams winter lager.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollidaysburg, pa.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite place for a delicious steak and you can't beat the $10.00 special. I go there quite often and love it. If you go ask for Amber Franko. She is the best waitress you'll ever have!!!! Truly a great place for food, drinks and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.