We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza was good, other dishes marginal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marzoni's Brick Oven & Brewing Co.

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marzoni's Brick Oven & Brewing Co.
1830 East Pleasant Valley Blvd,, Altoona, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 142 restaurants in Altoona
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza was good, other dishes marginal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The thick-crust pizza we ordered was not bad at all, though we weren't permitted to adjust the toppings. That, just barely, made up for the rest of the meal. The cannolini was below average. House salads were sulfated & pre-cut, and the dressings were factory flavored. Our primary server was quite good, but the woman who brought out entrees flatly refused to clear our table of the the appetizer & salad dishes, instructing us to "make room". All told it cost us $75 for a family of four. Way too pricey for this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    15
    12
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good craft beers, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's near a motel, and it looks almost exactly like a ChiliAppleRubyFridays, but the beers are quite good, and the food is at least a notch above the best of the casual dining places. You won't go here for your 20th anniversary, but in the barren wasteland of Blair County dining, this is solidly consistent, a nice pseudo-upscale family dining experience where the kids can have pizza and Dad can get loaded on the beer sampler.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service, good food and nice selection of craft beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our party of three ordered the sirloin strip, beer battered shrimp and eggplant parmesan. The steak was tender and cooked to perfection. The eggplant and pasta was delicious with the marinara sauce, and the shrimp were fresh and tasty. Both side salads (garden and caesar) were good, and the dressings were excellent! Fresh breadsticks were served right out of the oven, and the server brought our requested marinara for dipping. Chelsea was a very friendly and attentive server. The flight of 8 samples of beer included the two seasonal brews. Every sample was quite good, even the darkest. You could taste the different flavors in each beer. We went back the next night for a growler of our favorite brew. (Growlers are only $7 on Mondays.) We definitely decided it warrants a return trip if we can squeeze it in to our Altoona stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped by mid afternoon. First visit here. Few people around. Nice murals on the walls, including a great photo of old Tyrone train station.
Bill Campbell, owner of Hoss's, opened both the Duncansville location then this new Marzoni's beginning of 2013.

Food tastes great, beer is very good.
They need to train waitstaff to make conversation with guests. They weren't busy, but it seemed like servers preferred to hide in the kitchen rather than come out & talk with guests.
I had a nice conversation with the bartender once I made it clear that I thought that talking with guests is important. No one likes to feel ignored.

Some restaurants, servers only pay attention to larger parties because of the tip. Often solo diners tip well, pay cash, and just don't want to feel ignored.

I think this place is ok, I'll return & try it again, maybe take some friends along, or the whole family if I like it. Food & beer is all very good, place very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just wanted a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I went here for dinner on a Friday evening, and even though the parking lot was full and many people waiting (for the rest of the large group), we were seated immediately. The staff was very efficient and friendly, especially our server. She was quite attentive and always right there when we needed her. My wife had the Pistachio Crusted Salmon with the horseradish sauce, baked potato and sauted zucchini. I had the Crab Crusted Baked Haddock with the same sides. We shared a grilled shrimp plate and I had a Stone Mason Stout (a good choice) with the meal. Even though I enjoyed my meal, my wife REALLY enjoyed her's! All this, and a cozy family-friendly atmosphere for about $43 dollars, not bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzoni's Brick Oven & Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Marzoni's Brick Oven & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marzoni's Brick Oven & Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.