We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Altoona

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Altoona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Altoona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Center Drive, Altoona, PA 16602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Altoona
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got a good price on it for $69.00 a night. The hotel is clean and the beds are very comfortable. The room was large and had a sofa in the room plus 2 queen beds. The food was OK. The pool was nice and the hot tubs are great. One did not work when we were there. I will stay there again any time that I am in the area.

Room Tip: Don't have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Harry F,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Altoona. I'm glad you liked our hotel and our clean, comfortable rooms. It's also good to hear that you had time to relax in the hot tub during your stay. Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
20
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Very clean.
Comfortable beds.
The staff was incredibly nice. We had to arrive very late because we were coming for an emergency issue and they were extremely accommodating. Each time I called and spoke with someone, they couldn't have been any nicer.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
DMH1416,
We're glad to hear from you, and we appreciate your kind review. I'm pleased to know that we were able to provide a nice, comfortable place for you to rest. I'm also glad to know that our wonderful staff gave you a warm welcome and accommodated you well. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice and clean hotel. Very convenient to all of the amazing things Altoona has to offer. Very friendly front desk and restaurant staff. Only place I stay when I am in the area. If you have an event at the convention center it is also very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Gooch146,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and we're delighted to hear of your pleasant visit. Thank you for letting other viewers know of our nice, clean hotel located in a wonderful area, Altoona. I'm glad you found our staff friendly, and I hope they added to your comfort and enjoyment. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott in Altoona is by far the best place to stay in the area. With an updated lobby, excellent food service, friendly service and clean rooms. The downside was the workout room, which was pitiful (incredibly small, outdated equipment and broken machines.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
mflan46,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear from you about your recent visit with us at Courtyard Altoona. I'm glad you liked our updated lobby, friendly staff, and clean rooms. I appreciate your feedback about our fitness center, and I apologize for it not meeting your expectations. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us as we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott in Altoona is the only superior property in the area and I have found the staff committed to service and excellence.

The rooms are large and are sporting new colors and decorations that enhance the decor.

I have consistently found that the room has been well maintained. This property is used by PSU fans and despite the party abuse that I am sure it endures from time to time, the cleanliness is excellent and the maintenance staff keeps things in repair.

A faucet was leaking in my room and I mentioned it to the front desk the day after Christmas and was fixed immediately.

Snow fell throughout the day on 12/26 and the parking lots and the driveway was maintained as well as could be expected given the inch an hour accumulation. In the morning the entire property was plowed and it was easy to leave.

This is a quality property with quality service. Kudos to the staff and management.

I will be returning again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
George M,
Thank you greatly for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest who has enjoyed staying with us and has appreciated our high caliber customer service. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you'll continue to visit us. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stay here each year while visiting over the Christmas holidays. Last year the lobby was being renovated. WOW, how great it looks. So modern and clean. The room as always was large and so nice. (king room). Used the indoor pool and hot tub and the temp. for winter was great. We requested an early check in and no problem at all. We stayed Dec. 26th during a snowstorm and the entire staff worked so hard to keep the parking lot cleared as well as check in area clean as guests were entering.
The only thing we notice each year is the quality of the TV service. Nice flat screens, but they need to upgrade the service. Every channel is always a bit fuzzy. We will stay here again when in the area.. P.S. Every staff member at this hotel had a smile and was always willing to help in anyway the could! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Brian03,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear from you, and we greatly appreciate your continued patronage. I'm glad you liked our spacious, comfortable rooms as well as our exceptional staff. Your feedback about the tv service is appreciated and will be taken in review. I'm glad you were treated with smiles and hope you'll return for more.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed at this property this week and called ahead to ask the to remove the feathers in the room and the front desk happily took care of my request. The room was very clean, well lit with a very comfortable mattress seating area, mini fridge and LCD TV. I mistakenly forgot my toiletry bag and I asked the front desk where the closest pharmacy was and they just gave me everything I needed to be fresh the next day. The bathroom was well lit with ample pressure in all of the facilities. I had breakfast at the restaurant the next morning and they made great scrambled egg whites with tomatoes and cheese and had a Starbucks so I was able to get two double black eyes to get my day started extremely caffeinated.
The staff was very friendly, attentive and genuinely seemed to have a good time working with each other. A little off he beaten path unless you are going to a convention, but a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you have allergies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Bob W,
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear of your pleasant stay with us, and we're delighted to have had you as our guest. I'm glad our staff was attentive to your needs as well as friendly and professional. Glad you liked the Starbucks and breakfast too! Please plan to join us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Katie Millward, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Altoona

Address: 2 Convention Center Drive, Altoona, PA 16602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Altoona 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Altoona hotel is meticulously designed for the business and pleasure traveler alike. Enjoy the comfort, style and functionality of our modern lobby featuring The Bistro. Eat-Drink-Connect in The Bistro offering delicious breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails and Starbucks(R) coffee. This Altoona hotel is conveniently connected to the Blair County Convention Center and is just minutes from a variety of restaurants such as Outback Steakhouse, TGI Friday's, and Jethros. The Courtyard Altoona hotel is ideally located in the heart of Altoona and just minutes from many area attractions: Lakemont Park, DelGrosso Park, Pennsylvania Rails to Trails, Blue Knob Ski Resort, Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, and the Altoona Railroaders Memorial Museum. Relax in comfortable guest rooms and stay productive with free Wi-Fi. Unwind in the Indoor Pool, Whirlpool or Fitness Center. Visit the Courtyard Altoona hotel, offering unparalleled service and style among hotels in Altoona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Altoona Hotel Altoona
Courtyard Altoona
Altoona Courtyard
Altoona Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.