We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Mexican Restaurant

Montezuma Mexican Restaurant
106 Sierra Dr, Altoona, PA 16601-9341
814-201-2151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 143 Restaurants in Altoona
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
State Collage
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service was great and so was the food. The prices are as good as it gets at an ethnic restaurant. We have been there a half dozen times or so and I have tried a different meal every time. I have not been disappointed with any of them. I love the chips and salsa that is served almost as soon as you get seated.They will refill it for you. The place is clean and the music makes you think you are in Mexico. Yes, I have been in Mexico. So if you like Mexican food or want to try it for the first time; this is the place to go. The drinks are good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Go-to place for Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We always get a great meal here. Fresh, fast food and excellent service keeps us coming back.
The atmosphere is festive and clean. I prefer the grilled chicken salad but you can't go wrong with any dish.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican right next to I-99”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

From one try, I am very pleased with this restaurant. All the food was well prepared and richly flavored, just a pleasure. The location is fantastic, a tennis-ball throw from I-99 Plant Rd. exit and thus the perfect travel stop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1ST choice Mexican Restaurant in the Altoona Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have eaten in Mexican Restaurants in Mexico, Texas, Colorado, Florida and all the Mexican restaurants in Altoona. I have returned to the Montezuma many times. When I am in the mood for Mexican food in the Altoona area, its at Montezuma. The service has always been attentive and helpful. Part of serving great food is presentation on the plate. Every meal I have eaten at the Montezuma has not only tasted great, but the presentation puts them a step above other Mexican Restaurants. Their margaritas are reasonably priced. The atmosphere is friendly and decorated like one would expect in a Mexican Restaurant. Love their 2 for 1 coupons although they can make me feel guilty for getting such great service, great food and great prices. (Even without a coupon)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mex in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staff is very friendly and attentive. Munch on tortillas and salsa while you wait for your order. Food is great and it doesnt take as long as most places to get in and out, which my wife and I love. Montezumas is our favorite restaurant in Altoona.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.