We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, very clean, with everything you need, and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Altoona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Altoona to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Altoona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Stroehman Drive, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit, Altoona, PA 16601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
NEPA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“New, very clean, with everything you need, and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff was so nice and helpful. It is 4 years old and clean. There is nothing to walk to, which isn't fun, but it is just off the highway. The onsite breakfast good and it was kept replenished. Small indoor pool but nice. The rooms and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie Z, Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! My staff takes pride in their work and we are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. On your next visit, there is a great restaurant two miles away that I would highly recommend; it's called Marzoni's. We would love to hear your thoughts about it if you are ever back in the area. It's quite a hit with our guests. Again, we are pleased to hear you had such a comfortable stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
22
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed at this Comfort Suites a dozen times and it is uniformly clean, very comfortable, with spacious rooms and baths, and very nice, helpful staff. The beds are very comfortable, and there is a tiny pool and exercise room. There is nothing around, so get your meals elsewhere. The breakfast is very basic, but you can make your own waffle, and they have yogurt, cereal, apples and oranges, and other less healthful options, and the coffee is decent (from a picky coffee drinker). It's the best place we've stayed anywhere from Tyrone to State College.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. The south rooms face a small hill and trees -- a nicer view than the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie Z, Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
A "Great Place to Stay" is what we like to hear! Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy you found our rooms so comfortable and spacious. The extra space is a big turn on to our guests. My staff takes pride in their work so I'm pleased to hear the staff exceeded your expectations. We thank you again and we hope your "dozen times" will turn into another dozen times when staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable. It's off the interstate a little bit so there is no road noise. Would stay here again. Heated pool is nice, a little small but nice. Wish they had a hot tub, after a day of skiing would have loved a hot tub. Only downfall, not a lot of parking when you get in late.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie Z, Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
After a long fun day of skiing, we thank you for such a wonderful review! Blue Knob Ski Resort is a big hit in the winter time. We hope you come back next year for another ski trip and to then experience another comfortable stay with us. Again, thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good price and nice room with the suite added space. Not in town but has one good restaurant
close by. They attack the problem of many hotels not having NIGHT LIGHTS in the bathroom but
not with a good solution. The bathroom light is on a motion detector which is good but the light
is too bright in the middle of the night. I always carry my own night light.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie Z, Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Many people enjoy the added space we have in our suites so I'm very happy to hear that was accommodating for you. I'm pleased to hear you experienced Marzoni's down the road for dining as well. It's quite a highlight hearing all of the good comments from people when they come back from lunch or dinner. We hope we have the pleasure to serve you the next time you are in town. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a romantic Christmas gift for my fiancée she has been ill for some time and I wanted something special for her ,in November I booked a juccuzzi room for us for December 18th we arrived and they said we didn't have a reservation gave them the confirmation number said it was for November 18th.Wow that's funny that's about the time it was booked I spoke personally to them to reserve apparently someone doesn't know how to do their job.All we were offered was a regular room and they called a sister motel within 15miles no jaccuzzi room available .No more offered in my opinion they should do more to please their customers.We do this quite often for each other we don't want a regular room this was our first time to this motel and they really disappointed us.We always spend extra for the jaccuzzi suite because that's what we enjoy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I am sorry that you were less than happy with the service that you received at our hotel. We try to always make sure that we treat all of our guests with superior service. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is newer. The lobby and breakfast area were nice and clean. The breakfast was good. The location was right off the highway and not to far from PSU. The mattress sloped into the middle, which is my only complaint. Hopefully they will replace the mattress soon.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor need lobby. Our room was quiet, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and I will be sure to look into your comment about your bed. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revloc Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stay at this hotel frequently, basically just as a get a way. This is by far the best hotel in the Altoona-Johnstown area. Very large, clean rooms and the staff is always friendly, especially at the breakfast bar. The price is reasonable, especially when considering the nearby hotels (Hampton Inn, Marriot, even the Holiday Inn is more usually) This hotel is newer and very well decorated. I would highly recommend that if you need a hotel in the area try the Comfort Suites!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites so you can't go wrong with your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Altoona, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Than you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am happy that you mentioned the value that you received at our hotel. I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Altoona

Address: 140 Stroehman Drive, I-99 and Pine Croft Exit, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Altoona Hotel Altoona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.