We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful menu and unexpectedly charming atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altoona Hotel - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Altoona Hotel
3830 5th Ave, Altoona, PA 16602-1609
814-944-5521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flavorful menu and unexpectedly charming atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I ate dinner here with a group of people. Based on it's location, I was not expecting this type of restaurant. The exterior is unassuming, but it is quite charming inside. The menu has a great selection of very flavorful dishes. There is a great variety of food. I had mahi-mahi which was cooked very well. I started off with a delcious bisque which I wish I had a larger bowl of and completed the meal with the chef's homemade fugi apple ice cream. Phenomenal.

If you want to try a local restaurant that is a bit more upscale, make reservations at the Altoona Hotel.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise in Altoona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Altoona Hotel (which is really only a restaurant) wasn't the #1 rated restaurant in Altoona when I checked the TripAdvisor ratings, but the reviews convinced me it might be the best place in town to host a group of family members following a family reunion. I recommend it. I had a superb 6-mushroom soup and a chicken confit that were both as good as I would expect in a big city bistro. Others in my party had salmon and duck and it was all first class. It's in a residential corner of town, so don't be surprised when your GPS takes you there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Run, don't walk to this gem of a restaurant. Fine dining in a residential neighborhood. Plain facade but nothing plain about the food and wine. Big city dining with an incredible wine selection. We spent a delightful evening and will definitely return next time we're in the area. My sisters loved the lighter (smaller) selections and the variety was impressive. We were very impressed that so much was made right there. I don't think anything else like this exists within miles of Altoona!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
“5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Great food. My wife and I didn't want to eat it because it looked like it was from a Food Network chef. However, we DID eat it and it WAS terrific.

Friendliest staff I've ever seen at a restaurant. I never write reviews for anything, but when we walked out of there, I knew I was going to write this right away. Definitely a high recommendation...

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Exceptional food, wine, and evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

From start to finish, it was a wonderful evening. The owner, Bjorn I believe, is exceptional with his parings, and is truly passionate food, wine and beer. A pleasure to talk with. I would recommend to absolutely anyone.

Menu is diverse and from what I hear will be changing seasonally.

Would recommend to anyone, and certainly go with the owners suggestions. Been back several times and he has never steered me wrong.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altoona Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altoona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.