We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to view trains.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark

Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark
1500 Glenn White Road, Altoona, PA
+1 814-941-7743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unusual construction of rail-building that enabled trains to move westward.
Parts Unknown
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The place to view trains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Of course, how much you enjoy the horseshoe curve is probably going to depend on how much you like trains, but if you do, it's a great place to spend the afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    62
    28
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We waited over an hour and no one was sure when a train was going to arrive. As soon as we got back down 198 steps a train came and we had to run all the way back up to see; trees are too tall to see anything from ground leve.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very interesting historical site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband is a rail fan and was so excited about seeing this. Surprisingly, I found it interesting as well. The grounds are well maintained and the staff very pleasant. Plenty of picnic tables and you can spend several hours here waiting and watching trains go by the curve. That is what we did and had a lovely afternoon. My biggest complaint is the hours- they open late and you miss the bulk of train activity in the morning.
Overall a great stop if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dont go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Went to horse shoe curve. We had to wait a hour and a half for one train to come through.everyone thst i talked to was disappointed. If your driving by its ok to stop, but dont make a special trip like i did

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC for Rail Fans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

WOW! What an experience. Pack and lunch for there really isn't much to eat or drink. It's a wonderful place and can't get much better than seeing a train coming west bound on the track!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Curve National Historic Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.