We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable accomodations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Altoona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Altoona to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Altoona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable accomodations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As with most Hamptons, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have never been disappointed. I travel a lot and have come to have high expectations for hotel rooms. Hampton is very reliable and consistent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your liked your stay! We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!

Regards and best wishes!

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    57
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
77
37
10
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stay here quite often when in town on business.The staff is VERY friendly and they go out of their way to assist you. Rooms are clean and quiet.Coffee and Tea available 24 hours a day in the Lobby. Best Hotel in Altoona!

Room Tip: Make reservations way in advanced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Altoona. I am glad that you enjoy the amenties that we offer while staying with us. I am so glad that you have chosen our hotel for all of your lodging needs while in the Altoona area!

Look forward to seeing you again soon..

Best Wishes!

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

How nice , a hotel that has a cheap rate for people stuck in bad weather rather than jacking up the price for the last room. Nice room too, very clean and pleasant staff. Hope all our hotels on this trip are a good.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a survey concerning your stay at our hotel on March 18th. The area did have a large snow event during that time that did cause driving and other issues in the area. I am glad that our hotel could offer you a distressed passenger rate for your stay and that you were safe during the storm!

We look forward to having you stay with us again, whether for inclement weather, business or just for a weekend getaway!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
AOOPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place to stay. I was given a $20 per night discount because I was in town for a funeral. The breakfast was good and there were accommodations for my 8 month son. The room was not the cleanest under/behind the bed, but besides that, great place to stay.

Room Tip: (1) Call the hotel before hand to get a feel of the service. (2) Do no fear asking if they have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey concerning your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of a special bereavement rate. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy our breakfast items and that we had the necessary pack n play unit for your 8 month old. I am sorry for the fact that the room was not up to the cleanliness standard under the bed skirt and behind the bed.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the future,

Warmest Wishes,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We (my husband, and son) were here for a two night stay with our son's Midget 16AA hockey team for a tournament. The hotel lobby is very clean and inviting. It has a fireplace, small tables and is where breakfast is served in the morning. A coffee station is set up here all day with complimentary coffee, teas and hot chocolate. We stayed in room 218, right in front of the elevator hallway. I thought it would be a very noisy room, but it wasn't. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. The only drawback, that I write in virtually every hotel review I write, is the double beds. Why not queens? We never sleep as comfortably away from home, but to sleep in a small bed just compounds the issue. One of our teammate's parents had to leave their son with us for a night and two almost 6 foot boys in that small bed was comical. The heating system was loud, but it needed to be on as it was bitter cold outside at night. Breakfast was included and was very good. They had pre-made omelets, meat, juice, pastry and muffins, bananas, one waffle maker, real oatmeal with extras to add, yogurt and someone on staff to help and replenish all morning. The exercise room is tiny and minimal. The pool was welcoming on a very cold weekend and was clean and relaxing. The hotel is adjacent to and within walking distance to a large mall, a pub style restaurant is across the parking lot. It is on the main road and other shopping is easily accessible. It's right off the highway and so easy to find. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the accomodations and with the area. If you are ever in Altoona again, we hope that you will choose to stay with us!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This Hampton Inn is due for an update and it seems one is coming. Clean but shabby. Refrigerators not in every room as in most Hampton Inns. Also, Hilton Honor members be aware that this Hampton Inn has chosen NOT to participate in the current Hilton offer of Double Points thru March 31, 2013. It is disappointing that they do not participate as my husband is a loyal Hilton Honors customer and often seeks out Hampton Inns because of their special offers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a response concerning your stay at our hotel. You are correct in noting that our hotel is very soon going to start a major renovation process which will include the brand new Hampton Perfect Mix lobby, brand new guest rooms and other renovations throughout the hotel. We are very excited concerning this positive renovation which we are doing to improve the hotel for our valued guests, just like yourself.

Again thanks for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We love the location but I forgot to ask for a room on the highway side of the building. We like the view of the city. Our view was the back of the building toward Cracker Barrel. Appreciated the comfortable office chair and ample pillows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out the survey concerning your stay at our property. I am glad you enjoyed the room amenities. Please let us know your preference for your room during the reservation process and we will make every effort to accomodate your request.

Thank you again for staying wth us!

Regards,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Hampton Inn Altoona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.