We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best choices when staying in Altoona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Altoona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Altoona to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Altoona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best choices when staying in Altoona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Altoona. There are a fair amount of hotel/motel choices in Altoona, but The Hampton Inn provides consistently good quality & service. The hotel is clean, the rooms are relatively spacious, beds & pillows are comfortable, good (free) Internet connection and the staff is attentive. The location is good with easy access to nearby major roadway. The Hampton Inn is always my choice when traveling in & around Altoona.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for the review of the Altoona Hampton Inn. I’m glad we are your choice when traveling to Altoona and look forward to many more stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
82
38
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night. The hotel is right off the highway and close to a lot of stores and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. The flat screen TV was nice and had plenty of channels to choose from. The hotel was pretty busy the night we stayed, but there was very little noticeable noise from people in the halls and adjacent rooms once we were in the room. We had dinner at Champs, which is a sports bar right next to the hotel and the food and service were very good there. We also had the free breakfast in the lobby which was OK, what you would expect.

I’ve stayed in three hotels in the Altoona area – this one, the Holiday Inn Express, and the Marriott Courtyard. The Courtyard and the Hampton Inn are pretty comparable. Between the Holiday Inn Express and the Hampton Inn, the Hampton Inn is definitely the better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Hampton Inn Altoona. We strive to give each of our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay and soon be undergoing a lobby renovation which will open up the area and make everyone’s breakfast experience more enjoyable. We hope to see you on your next trip to Altoona PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

On our way to Virginia Beach, we hit a deer with our car, severely damaging it and stranding ourselves in Altoona, PA. The hotel staff immediately helped us out. They gave us a room at a discounted rate, wrote down all the numbers of local car rental dealers, continuously were checking on us, asking if we needed anything or what they could do to help. The Staff provided extraordinary customer service and truly cared about us and our situation. Thank you Hampton Inn at Altoona!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey. I am so sorry to hear that you had an accident on your way to Virginia Beach. I hope that everyone is well and that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that our staff could help you with your lodging needs.

Hopefully on your next trip you can stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here for a night on our way down to VA, the check in was prompt, advice on eating places was good, breakfast was excellent, all round just a 5 star experience.

The bed was comfortable, curtains blacked out all light, I was able to rest until well after dawn. I strongly recommend this place..

Room Tip: The end is towards the freeway, but did not experience any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and also taking the time to fill out a survey about your stay! I am glad you thought our beds were comfortable and your overall experience was good.

If you are ever in the area again, please come see us again!

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Although it looks like a typical medium priced chain hotel room they go a step further. There is a full size couch to relax on so one doesn't have to sit on the bed. There is an actual closet with a door and best of all hangers which you can take of fthe rod. There is a full length mirror & plenty of towels however bring your own cotton balls & Q-tips.
A complimentary hot breakfast is provided as well as a newspaper. If you don't have your lap top there is a computer with free use.
A Champs Restaurant is out the front door and a Cracker Barrell out the back. A mall with Macy's is right across the street.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They serve Altoona well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable amenities and I am glad to hear that you agree. Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn in Altoona while visiting my daughters friend at the university in town. The hotel was a bit further from campus then we thought but that's not their fault.
The hotel is showing its age but room was clean and comfortable, just fine for what we needed though nothing special. Breakfast was a bit sparse and picked over by the sports teams staying there. The hotel was having trouble keeping up with the demand for food. Most of the breakfast selections were empty and restocking was VERY slow.
There were quite a few other hotels in the area and next time I'll probably try someplace else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for sending a response concerning your stay at our hotel on February 21st. I am so sorry to hear that you had some issues with our breakfast bar. We did have a great many teams that chose to stay with our hotel over the weekend and most were at the breakfast bar at the same time. Again I do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you and your family while staying with us.

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a good place for what we expected. We stayed for one night and it was clean and the bed was comfy. The location was great and i would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C, Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel on February 12. We appreciate our guests sharing their experiences from their stays at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Cipriani
General Manager
Altoona Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Altoona

Address: 180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Altoona Hotel Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona Pa
Altoona Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Altoona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.