We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Youell's Oyster House

Youell's Oyster House
2249 W Walnut St, Allentown, PA 18104-6313
+1 610-439-1203
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 344 Restaurants in Allentown
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Youell's Oyster House, one of the oldest continuously operating restaurants in America, was destroyed by fire January 22, 2013.Visit our beautiful new restaurant. Now open Sundays. Fresh Seafood, Raw Bar, Varietal Oysters, Seafood Towers, Gastropub Fare. Full compliment of Craft Brews on draft. Generous wine, scotch, cognac and cocktail selection for the most discriminating imbiber Upscale, casual atmosphere for any and all occasions, including business and family gatherings, as well as private parties on our mezzanine level.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Is this the best seafood I've ever had? No, but I enjoy coming here. I enjoy sitting at the bar, and I was able to find that requests can be made regarding the preparation of the fried oysters, for example. One can ask for less breading. I had an appetizer that was out of this world, sautéed crab on toast.

The wait-staff is always friendly. I will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ok seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was recommended by friends. I expected more than we got. Seafood was just ok. Everything seemed a bit over-done. Building was not set up quite as we expected.(basically in an old house) To each his own, but we'll go elsewhere for seafood.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Poconos, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This restaurant is situated in a residential neighborhood street. The seafood is always fresh, and the service is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, fun neighborhood seafood restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It's a real treat to visit Youell's. It's situated on a lovely, shady and quiet neighborhood street. You can smell the browned butter as soon as you open the door. The cocktail servers and staff are so nice and professional. The crab bisque is amazing !! For those of you who don't know, Mondays through Thursdays, when you sit at the bar between 5:00 - 7:00 p.m., you have a choice of complimentary oysters, clams or mussels.

I am an artist who loves to paint sea creatures. Youell's welcomed my paintings and held a fantastic reception for me. I am so lucky to have several paintings on exhibition in Youell's Oyster House. My mouth is now watering .... time for a chilled Martini and plate of Oysters !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is my husband's favorite restuarant and all the seafood dishes we have had have been excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Youell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Youell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youell's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.