We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5630 W Tilghman Street, Allentown, PA 18104-9385   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Allentown
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Definitely was a little off of the beaten path but hotel seemed nice and was right across the street from Chris' Family Restaurant which was very good. We stayed here on our way to Brooklyn, nice stopover point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and positive review of our property. We strive to ensure everyone of our guests is accommodated in the correct fashion and your words reflect that. We hope to see you again very soon!

Andrew Frank
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    69
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
115
55
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not a very good location. Further away from Rt78 than other hotels, and further away from a choice of places to eat. Had a room facing the main road and listened to traffic all night long.
Loveseat in the room was like sitting on a cinder block. Breakfast was ok as was the coffee but overall not thrilled with the nights stay.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. We appreciate your business and hope that your next stay will be improved upon. If you have any concerns please contact me at 610-530-5545.

Andrew Frank
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel. Four nights we reserved online, but since the purpose was to conduct personal business after a death in the family, at the last minute we decided to arrive early by a night and take our chances on getting a room.

The advance check-in was no problem and we were able to use a coupon to obtain a room at discount. We were pleased with this, and our room was completely satisfactory despite having been assigned a different category of room from our reservation for the next four nights.

Since we were returning for four nights in a different room, at check-out for the first night, we asked to have our luggage held. The person at the desk was nonplussed and had to consult management to determine if that were possible. This is standard procedure and it should have been automatic.

Upon checking into our second room, which we had for the duration of our stay, I discovered that I had neglected to pack my night clothes when vacating the first room. I immediately inquired at the front desk and was told that they didn't have my items and to try again in the morning. I did so, but was again dismissed. I feel the hotel should have either contacted the housekeeping person responsible for cleaning my first room or let me check for myself. My reaction was extreme disappointment. Perhaps to them, "nightclothes" is immaterial. However, on this trip I decided to chance packing my favorite sleeping outfit. And, what if it had been expensive earrings or a watch - what would the hotel have offered in that case?

Aside from being unhappy with the hotel's attitude regarding customer satisfaction, I will say that the category of room we reserved for our four nights worked very well. There was a king bed with a separate living space, divided by a shoulder-high wall. The separate area, with couch, coffee table, and desk was perfect for isolating our "family business" space from our sleeping space.

I would also mention that we had need of the hotel's business center and it worked well for us.

Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel, but dissatisfied with the hotel's attitude and treatment of our specific problems.

One other off-the-wall comment: the parking lot seemed to be a bit of a hang out place, and I don't think I'd be entirely comfortable with that as a single female traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our our property here in Allentown. Your feedback helps us greatly in ensuring the way we treat our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed most of our services and apologize for any instance in which you did not. We hope to see you again in the future.

Andy Frank
General Manager
Best Western Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent hotel for the price. Rooms very large and very clean. Staff members were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was good, something for everyone. The only thing that was a surprise was the pool only being 4 feet deep and smaller than expected. Overall excellent and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your recent stay and kind feedback regarding our property. We strive to provide the best accommodations possible for every guest and your words reflect that. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Andy Frank
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I used our bonus points to stay here. We were told by Best Western that the certificate would be emailed to the motel. When we arrived the attendant asked for it and was annoyed that we didn't have it. Apparently he found it because we were all set. We have used other loyalty programs to book rooms with wonderful success. We have stayed at Best Western properties a couple dozen times before earning a free room. We were only offered a room with 2 queen beds even though all our stays have been kings. We were given a room on the 1st floor closest to the highway. It seemed like a lousy way to reward your best customers. The room had apparently been cleaned with an agent that had a very strong fragrance and we needed to leave the window open and choose between an allergic reaction to the fragrance or the extremely loud traffic noise. On the positive side, the room was very clean, although the bedspread on one bed was very wrinkled which made me think it had been used and not laundered in between guests. The common areas appeared clean and well maintained. Finally, we packed up the car at 6:45 Am to get an early start for our 6.5 hour ride home only to find that the person who prepares breakfast had left and not told anyone. We asked the front desk attendant who was wearing her coat and chatting with her friend and seemed to mind being interrupted about breakfast and she said they weren't serving until 7. At 7:10 we inquired with day shift clerk if breakfast was going to be served. They couldn't find the breakfast attendant, but did manage to get breakfast going by 7:30. Unfortunately, housekeeping forgot to put caffeinated coffee in the room and the breakfast room and lobby were out as well. Needless to say it wasn't a very rewarding bonus stay. The motel was very convenient to RT 78. We enjoyed our meal at the Red Robin on the same road.

Room Tip: Book a room on the opposite side of the highway. This Motel is in a commercial urban area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Your thoughts are important to us as we strive to ensure each one of our guests thoroughly enjoys their stay at our property. We hope to see you again very soon!

Andy Frank
General Manager
best Western PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had to call this hotel 3 times before I got accurate directions. It was night and I was tired. When I arrived, the turn around in front of the hotel is only wide enough for 1 car at a time, so if you're loading/unloading, you're holding up traffic. I'm handicapped and designated parking is a good 60' from the door. While I was unloading, there was a group of 6 men all smoking at the same time right in front of the door. I bet I smoked half a cigarette from their smoke! Between the handicap parking and the door is a concrete and landscape obstacle course. The desk clerk was uninterested after I had signed the paperwork. I had to go get a cart for my luggage and haul it about 50 yds down a corridor and then return it to the front and go park my van. I asked for the ice machine. The only one was up one floor and down the length of the building. The room looked very nice, then I noticed that both beds were bowed in the middle. I hoped they felt better than they looked. They didn't. The bathroom also looked great. Large and modern. But the vanity is a marble top table that's higher than a kitchen counter top! If you're under 5'6", you'll need a stool to brush your teeth! To add insult to injury, they put a full length mirror on the wall exactly opposite the toilet which faces the bathroom door. I don't like to close the bathroom door when I'm alone in a hotel room. (Guess I shouldn't have watched "Psycho"). This place was designed by the Marquis de Sade!

Room Tip: If you're handicapped, you need to request a room close to the lobby and bring your own ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with our property and feedback. I'd personally like to apologize if you were inconvenienced at all during your stay and If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me directly at 610-530-5545. Thank you.

Andy Frank
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park

Address: 5630 W Tilghman Street, Allentown, PA 18104-9385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Allentown
#7 Business Hotel in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and outstanding guest service is the best way to describe The Best Western Plus Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park in Pennsylvania. Our staff provides a stress-free stay and are dedicated to helping you with all your tourist and accommodation needs as well as ensuring you have a great time in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Please do not hesitate and book today! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Allentown Inn And Suites Business Center
Best Western Plus Allentown Inn & Suites Business Hotel Allentown
Best Western Allentown Hotel
Allentown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Allentown Inn & Suites by Dorney Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.