We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two different experiences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Allentown West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Allentown West to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Allentown West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   327c Star Road, Allentown, PA 18106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Allentown
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotteville, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two different experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stay at this hotel every year. This time, on our first stay, we had a horrible experience with a family full of screaming children/babies next door to us and ants in the kitchen and the bathroom. The management did relocate us and did refund the dog fee.

The second, was great. It was quiet, the breakfast buffet was great, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

I don't agree with the $75 dollar pet fee, when the children cause more of a ruckus. After several emails the management did refund the dog fee although I think more could have been done. We only got 4 hours sleep because of the unruly family next door which the management knew about the night before!

Also, the third floor (top) is the smoking floor, which is a shame, since it is the most desired location, and yet, the entire floor stinks of smoke which gets into your clothes and seeps under the doors.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
feeding Hills, massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were visiting family in the area and found this hotel to be the best that we have stayed in. We were so comfortable. The mattress and pillows were wonderful. the room and the entire hotel was very clean. The best I must say was the breakfast which was very well done and very good especially the yummie waffles. The staff was quite nice.
I asked for directions one morning the younge lady at the desk even printed it out for me.
We were quite impressed and will stay there again on our next visit. Thank you.
Mr.&Mrs. Levine Feeding HIlls, Ma.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Staybridge Allentown/West is located on St. Hwy 100, just south of the US 22 (I-78) interchange, amidst a busy commercial area, and is tucked away off an access road, next to other motels and restaurants. Previous posters have mentioned the distribution center next door, but I didn't find it to be disturbing in any way.

This property appears to be fairly representative of the Staybridge chain...registration was quick and friendly...my room comprised a 2-room suite with Living room/Kitchen area, separating a bedroom/bathroom...more spacious than a standard hotel room, but smaller than what one would find at (e.g.) Embassy Suites...if you've ever stayed at a Homewood Suites, then you have a pretty good idea what a Staybridge is like.

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet...there is a complimentary breakfast buffet in the lobby, along with a small coffee bar, serving a variety of hot beverages, as well as small Library/Game area and business center, featuring PC's, printer and fax.

There are a couple of retaurants within walking distance from the property, along with some that are a short drive away...I'm not that familiar with the Allentown area, so there is nothing specific I can recommend, though we dined one evening at a "sports" themed restaurant not far from the airport called "Copperheads" which was quite good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYMisterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My queen suite was large and had a complete functioning kitchen with a full size refrigerator. Great for an extended stay where you want to take care of some of your meals in the hotel room. Room was very quiet and I did not have a problem with the distribution center next door. Wireless internet never went out on me and the speed was good. . Breakfast was exceptional, selection was great and spacious. Afternoon managers reception was real with soft drinks and food (pulled pork Tuesday) on the house. The pool and fitness area were OK, one treadmill kept popping its fuse though when I switched to the other treadmill it worked fine. TV and remote both worked in the fitness center. The whirlpool should have been about 2 degrees warmer. Overall a very pleasant stay for mid-price range.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I discovered this property and although was put off by its location next to a distribution center (you can see a whole bunch of tractor trailers parked next to the property), I am glad that I tried out this property. It is located right next to an excellent restaurant and an average diner. The hotel itself is fairly new and was quiet and comfortable.

  • Liked — Convenience, quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — No free breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cabal2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We originally had planned to spend eight nights at this hotel in order to explore the area and do some shopping. Unfortunately, we ended up only spending two nights primarily because of the above reason. The minute we got off the elevator, the stench of cigarettes hit our nostrils and continued all the way to the other end of the building, the location of our suite. The smell continued into our rooms, as far as the eating counter. We had to put pillows in front of the door to try to keep the odor to a minumum. The next day we bought air freshener to try to eliminate the smell. We mentioned this to the staff the morning of second day of our stay. They didn't seem to care about it, nor did they offer to change our rooms. For whatever reason, the stench was still present when we returned later that day.

Also, the kitchen wasn't as clean as it should have been for new guests. The lightbulb over the stove was burned out and the glass that covered it was greasy from past use. The bulb was replaced on the second day, but the glass was not cleaned.

On the plus side, the TV and DVD player were two nice features. The beds were comfortable and the duvets kept one warm without becoming overheated. The full kitchen was terrific, especially if one has to follow a special eating plan or wants to save money by not eating out.

If you don't mind nasty odors, it wouldn't be a bad place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinRose60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Upon arriving at our room we were initially pleasantly suprised-there is a large kitchen and living room area with a tv. When we reached the bedroom however that changed. On the ceiling there was a large water damage stain and then about a foot of the ceiling strip was missing. The worst part was that the lampshade was all stained from the water!!! This was inexcusable. I called the front desk and they said there was nothing else available. I expressed that we booked this back in September to ensure that we wouldn't run into a problem but they said they were fully booked and nothing else was available.
My husband then went down to the front desk in person and was told there was a room available on the smoking floor. Since I am highly allergic we did check it out but it was too smoky. So now our choices are a moldy room or a smoky room. We were not happy. I again went to the front desk and told the woman we were leaving as I found a Wyndham not far away with great reviews for a little less money. She then informed me someone just called to cancel their plans and that room was now available. It was fine except that the refrigerator and Sprinkler room below us was on all night and disrupted our sleep. Furthermore it's on a very busy highway with a lot of tractor trailer trucks so the outside noise was very loud. Also, they use very stong industrial chemicals to clean so that too bothered my sinuses.
The pluses-great breakfast-bacon, eggs, cereal, waffles, fruit etc. Truly a full breakfast with beverages and there was even an afternoon snack buffet the first night we were there. Pool and hottub were small but we basically had it to ourselves so we were happy about that.
All in all it was worth it for the money and the staff was very gracious and helpful. They did also take about $35 off one night to make up for our troubles. I just wonder why if the room we eventually we got wasn't offered to us in the first place?

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTarmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allentown hotels
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
#11 of 28 in Allentown
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - W Tilghman Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Allentown
Comfort Suites Allentown
#14 of 28 in Allentown
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
10.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Allentown Bethlehem Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Allentown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Allentown West

Address: 327c Star Road, Allentown, PA 18106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Allentown West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beginning November 2015, we will be undergoing a five-phase renovation project. This transformation covers all guest suites, public areas, lobby and pool. There will be minimal impact to guest comfort as construction will be limited to daylight hours and most will not be visible to our guests. The pool will be closed for the duration of the project. Get Comfortable at the Staybridge Suites Hotel Allentown West. The Staybridge Suites Allentown West hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Candlewood Suites. The Staybridge Suites Hotel is centrally located at I-78 and Route 100, minutes from downtown, the ABE Allentown Airport & Lehigh Valley Real estate districts. Our location offers easy access to Air Products, Olympus, Lutron Electronics, Coca-Cola, Fischer & Lehigh Cement, Lehigh Valley Industrial Parks, Iron Run Corporate Park, Stabler Center and the new Coca Cola Park Iron Pigs Stadium. We are minutes from Kutztown and Lehigh Universities, Cedar Crest College, Lehigh Valley Mall, Bear Creek Ski area and just 5 minutes from Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom. The Staybridge Suites Hotel offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom/two-bathroom apartment-like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with HBO, free wired and wireless Internet and direct dial phones with personalized voice mail. Other features include a 24-hour business center with free Internet access, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, indoor pool, courtyard with grills, and free deluxe breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Staybridge Suites Allentown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Allentown West Hotel Allentown
Allentown Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing