We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical diner food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chris's Family Restaurant

Chris's Family Restaurant
5635 Tilghman St, Allentown, PA 18104-9383
610-395-9252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 344 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Typical diner food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Serve breakfast all day and is good. The restaurant is similar to the Trivet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Food was not bad but service is SLOW!!!
We ordered an appetizer that we got after the food!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Re: Not a bad place if you can retrain the waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I used to work at Chris's Family Restaurant and can say that whatever server you had on that particular occasion was probably just a bad employee/having a bad day.

The owners at Chris's are by far the nicest people I've ever worked for. Some of the fairest, kindest bosses around...

And as far as the food is concerned, I would highly recommend that anyone passing through check out the dessert case. Everything is made on premises by an excellent baker. I can't even begin to describe how delicious all the dessert options are.

I would also recommend any of the items off their breakfast menu...ESPECIALLY their pancakes. They have a wide variety of add-ons for pancakes. You can get bananas, chocolate chips, blueberries, coconut, pecans, apple slices, pineapple, and a whole bunch of other stuff. ***Also be aware that the baker is responsible for making the pancake batter so it's every bit as delicious as everything in their pie cases***

They offer a lot of your basic diner food: sandwiches, burgers, etc., etc. BUT check out their sautee specials on weekends. Or even just the regular dinner specials they offer daily. You'd be surprised you're eating at a diner.

It's tasty, affordable food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great Greek food, and wonderful staff to help you with choices. Large portions for dining pleasure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not a bad place if you can retrain the waitstaff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Food and prices are great but waitstaff has little personality, certainly not sparkling. Granted my companion was kind of a "Five Easy Pieces" kind of a guy. The place has decent food and prices but they are not a bunch of happy campers like their competitor down the road.
Find out who is pissing off the waitstaff and fire them. Retrain.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chris's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.