We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Mexican Dishes, Pass on the others” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
6751 Ruppsville Rd, Allentown, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 369 restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: Southwestern
Restaurant details
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go for the Mexican Dishes, Pass on the others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I noticed that the bar food and the Mexican dishes are good, but the non-Mexican food is indifferently prepared., A request for a medium rare steak came out well done, the crabcakes were cold. I enjoyed the Mexican dishes there for lunch for years, and enjoy the al fresco seating when the weather permits.

Just stay away from the non Mexican dishes and you should be OK.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    4
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We discovered that when you stay at the Hampton Inn near Allentown, or other nearby hotels for that matter, this is the place to go for dinner! So glad we found it. We were staying over just for one night with our daughter for a college open house and had a great dinner - very pleasant, casual place with good food. Lots of interesting choices on the menu and we all enjoyed our meals - and they have delicious fresh lemonade! Price was quite reasonable as I recall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Whitehall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What can I say? We tried it again and...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

...liked it!

After our last few times at Sunset that were bad experiences, we decided to give it another shot after a few months. What can I say, the pull of Fiesta Night was just too strong! Glad we gave them a chance to redeem themselves, as things seemed back on par with our previous experiences. Had a great dinner, great service. Only giving 4 stars for now, but will review again after a few more visits to confirm that they are back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pretty standard American and Mexican dishes. I usually get a burger. It was terribly undercooked. Had to sent it back twice. But it was handled professionally and with a smile. When finally done right, it was very good. And, the manager took it off the bill because I was inconvenienced. I didn't expect that, so that was a pleasant surprise. Been going there for years. Will continuye to patronize for casual dining. Better than the franchises.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice pub style grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've enjoyed both lunch and dinners at the Sunset Grille. I wish their outdoor seating was not along such a busy road. There is also a stop light right there so you have people watching you eat. But seating inside is fine. We've always had good service. They have a wide variety of items on their menu. Their wraps are very good and the food comes out hot and tastes fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.