We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family Day Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom

Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom
3830 Dorney Park Road, Allentown, PA 18104
(610) 395-3724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Attractions in Allentown
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two-hundred acres of more than 100 rides, games, restaurants and Wildwater Kingdom, a mega-collection of water attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good family Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've been going here for many years. I loved when they put in Snoopy land! It is a lot of fun for people with young kids! Both parents and kids have a blast! Not to mention that there is something in Dorney for everyone as far as rides go. Wildwater Kingdom is great also. And again there is something in it for all ages! The best time to go would be during an off day like a Tuesday or Thursday because both parks can get pretty packed! The great thing is if you pay for both parks you can bounce back and forth at your leisure. The only down side is the price of food. That gets pretty expensive. I suggest bringing a cooler and either eating in the car or renting a space. We usually eat in the car and bring just enough cash for ice cream or drinks. Never go for the Fourth of July fireworks. Getting a spot is impossible and traffic is backed up for hours! Other than that it's a great day out!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    249
    122
    64
    79
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Variety of rides and for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is one of my favorite parks in NJ-PA area, the place is divided in: Amusement Park, Water Park and Snoopy Park. The rides are great, "Possessed" is my fav roller coaster there but there're other 5 good roller coaster too. The Water Park is always crowded in the Summer, so a tip is to enjoy the water rides in the morning because in the afternoon the lines are enormous. They have chairs laying around, and you can rent a locker to leave your stuff secured (it fits a medium backpack). The Snoopy Park is for kids and it's really cute. Food in the park is expensive (even Subway has an overpriced menu), so get a good breakfast before going to the park and later pick a place to have lunch (you also can leave the park, they will stamp your hand so you can re-enter - there's a Friendly's. Mc Donalds, "regular" Subway right by the side of the park). Water bottles are around $4, so take your bottle with you and just refill at the water fountains. There are few restrooms spread in the park (entrance, main street, one close to Thunderhawk, and one in the Snoopy area). Parking is $12-15 dollars but if you have a season pass is free. Their attractions for Halloween are awesome, I recommend for everybody who like those spooky type of things! Great park!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“small park inside a big park world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

this park advertises the big park atmosphere. It becomes very small when the water park is closed. There is not much for non-ride enthusiast. I actually went through the whole park in an hour and a half that includes going on rides. I also find that in the summer time it is a daycare center for the families of Allentown. Drop the kids off and leave atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dorney & Wildwater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used to take my family often, as it is a great dual park and so much fun. Over the last 10 years they have really added so much and the crowds get bigger each year because it is a great place for the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the way it was, and what it has become.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've lived next to Dorney Park my entire life, and can't wait for opening day, and feel sad on closing day. The park is clean, beautiful, and relaxed. The lines don't compare to other parks within driving distance. Plenty of fun to be had!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom also viewed

 

Been to Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.