We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, clean rooms, terrific location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3620 Hamilton Boulevard, Allentown, PA 18103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Allentown
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, clean rooms, terrific location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were traveling to look at colleges in the area and needed a central place to stay - it is clean, the staff professional and the rooms a good size. We had two queen beds and a pull out sofa. There is a huge lobby with (free) a substantial continental breakfast: coffee, tea, cocoa, juice, cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, bread and danish, and a pancake machine that will delight your young travelers. Across the street from Dorney Park (https://www.dorneypark.com/) - as in we could see the roller coasters from our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    54
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
81
31
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curtice, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from Allentown on Saturday, it was a perfect location for us to stay. I needed to do some Genealogy research at 3 local libraries in the area. This hotel was a great home base!
Clean and comfy, The breakfast was a great start to the day, the staff was very friendly, I guess if I had anything on the downside was getting in and out of the hotel, while it is easy to find, there is a road divider in front so one must use a uturn to get around. The manager more than helps out with this. He gave a printout of local resaurants and how to get to them, including how to use the uturns. After 3 days we were completely used to it!

Room Tip: Location is great, but watch carefully for the front entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments and hope your Genealogy research went well for you. We hope to see you return in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel March 28, 2013 as a stopover on the way from VT to VA. Just needed a place to crash halfway between the two. Turned out to be a fine choice. It was easy to find off of I-76, although a little convoluted to get onto I-476 from there. Hotel was very clean, room was a good size, flat screen TV with lots of channels, bed was comfy. Breakfast was decent, although not a huge variety, what was there was good. Place was quiet, partly a function, I guess, of Dorney Park not being open yet. It is literally right across the street from the park, so I imagine there would be a ton of kids in the warmer weather. One minor glitch: when I went to take a shower, the shower curtain was outside the tub, so I lifted it into the tub so no water would get on the floor. Hiding between the tub and the curtain was a mostly-empty bottle of coke. How that was missed I have no idea, unless the person who made up the room left it there accidentally. Anyway, told the mgr. on the way out, he was very apologetic. All in all, though, a comfy stay. By the way, plenty of restaurants nearby; we ate at Carraba's which was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize you had troubles finding I-476 upon your departure. We do offer non-complicated directions at the front desk and we are always happy to assist with directions. I thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our property as we strive to be the best and understand cleanliness is of the upmost importance to any traveler. We thank you again for visiting us on your travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Dorney Park. While it is not exactly walkable to the park (you have to walk around the park's perimeter fence), it is extremely close to the park. The room was clean, check-in/out was a breeze and the continental breakfast was an added bonus.

The only downfall to this hotel would be the lack of a swimming pool, especially for the kids. An indoor pool would be a great addition should guests of Dorney Park find themselves caught in the rain unexpectedly.

Overall our stay was hassle-free, our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. I would not hesitate to book a room here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff was friendly and had lots of helpful suggestions, complimentary breakfast was exactly what you would expect. Warm cookies in the lobby every afternoon, fresh fruit basket (apples and oranges), and coffee available 24/7. Work out room was not bad, only one treadmill though, and I had to wait a couple of mornings for other people to finish. I wish there was more to do near the hotel, we ended up at the neighboring hotels bar a few nights, were I had stayed on a previous trip, but definitely chose NOT to stay at that hotel ever again.
The rooms here were clean, and comfortable. I can see that in the summer when the theme park is open this hotel must be packed, but while we were there it was fairly quiet. We stayed here because it was convenient to the location where we were there to work, it is otherwise a bit isolated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. As we are centrally located to just about everything the Lehigh Valley has to offer; I am unsure as to what we are isolated from. Aside from that, it does seem as if you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you choose our hotel in the future when visiting the Allentown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family of four just spent a night at this hotel. Our first floor room was fairly quiet, except for the fan unit that kept one of us from sleeping well. The room was clean and functional. In the morning the room smelled like breakfast foods. The complementary breakfast was adequate. Unfortunately a huge TV screen and a second smaller TV in the small eating area made it impossible for our kids not to notice the continuous CNN photo display of Pistorius and murdered girlfriend throughout breakfast.
Note: We made a mistake when making our online booking, and arrived for check-in one day late! Management was not willing to soften the policy of a full night's charge for the night we missed, even though we are club members. Be careful - the online reservation printout lists only the date, not the day, which can make it difficult for the numerically challenged.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy that you enjoyed most aspects regarding your stay. Please be aware that the Front Desk is staffed 24/7 and we are here to assist and insure our guests satisfaction. I am sorry that we were not able to make your entire stay perfect as we would certainly hope for it to be.

As for our cancellation policy please be aware that the hotel holds a room based on the dates of the reservation. Therefore in situations such as which a guest makes a mistake in the date of arrival the hotel would not have the opportunity to resell the room to other potential patrons.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times. Since I grew up here, staying at this hotel is the next best thing to coming home. Hotel is located in an excellent and convenient area. Comfortable rooms, clean and very friendly and pleasant staff. There is no restaurant but there is a help yourself breakfast. Will certainly stay here on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are always excited to hear anyone refer to our hotel as "the next best thing to home". That is quite a compliment and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay once again and hear you are planning a future return. Thank you from the entire staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown

Address: 3620 Hamilton Boulevard, Allentown, PA 18103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Allentown PA. A 100% smoke free facility located just across the street from Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom. This conveniently located, clean and friendly hotel is located just off Interstate 78 at exit 54, just minutes from many Lehigh Valley businesses, attractions, shopping, golf, colleges and more. We are the closest hotel to the main gate at Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom!All rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, 32' flat panel HDTV, as well as all the other amenities you've come to expect from Holiday Inn Express.Other Points of Interest: The Holiday Inn Express is also a short drive to: Crystal Cave, Lost River Caverns, Lehigh Valley Zoo, Lehigh Valley Velodrome, The Crayola Factory, Easton Museum of Pez Dispensers, Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, Cabela's (Outdoor Merchandise), Lehigh Valley Mall, Lehigh University & Stabler Arena, PA International Raceway, Bear Creek Mountain and to take the Lehigh Valley self guided Covered Bridge Tour. We thank you for your interests and would like to welcome you to 'Stay Smart' at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Dorney Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Allentown
Holiday Inn Express Allentown
Holiday Inn Allentown
Allentown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Allentown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.