We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem from all Perspectives . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wheaton, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem from all Perspectives . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

What a lovely, beautifully appointed, comfortable hospitable home! The Hartzell B and B, hosted by Dave and Kitty was a respite on our biking vacation along the Great Allegheny Passage from Pittsburgh to Cumberland through the Allegheny Mountains along the Youghiogheny River. Every provision for comfort and joy from watching fireworks sitting in the wicker chairs on the front porch, complex beaujolais with dark chocolate in hand, to washing out biking clothes for us. Can't get much better than this!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
242
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I recently went to Addison, PA for my friends wedding. She had booked us rooms in this quaint B&B. The service was great. Fresh breakfast every morning with frest fruit and pastries. The rooms were lovely, each on unique. I have never slept so well in a hotel, but here I slept like I was at home. The room that I had shared a bathroom with another room. But I had my own sink in the room. Some of the rooms had a bathroom in them. Would definitely stay here again, if I am in the area. There is a lot of historical places including 3 of Frank Llyod Wright homes, within driving distance. Falling Water being one of them. Thank you again David and Kitty for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Hartzell House was the perfect place for hosting the bridal party for our daughter's Memorial Day wedding in Addison, PA. This beautiful historical house provided a wonderfully warm and welcoming setting for the bride-to-be and her bridal party to enjoy moments together before the Big Day! The bridal party truly enjoyed the delicious catered luncheon by Hartzell House as well as the special rooms we used to get dressed for the wedding. David and Kitty treated us all like family. Their warmth and kindness in all they did for us is very much appreciated. We highly recommend Hartzell House not only for a quiet and relaxing getaway but for special family events.....like our daughter's wedding!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we weren't sure what to expect. Dave and Kitty surpassed all our expectations. The house was beautifully decorated, warm and welcoming. They have put so much thought into details from umbrellas in case it rains, to snacks around the house and everything you would need for personal toiletries. The food was incredible, the best stuffed french toast we have ever had. It is to a gourmet standard with edible flowers and the freshest ingredients. We were so stuffed but completely satisfied. We went for two days, one day was spent studying/working in their beautiful library with classical music playing out of an old school radio. The other day we went out to falling waters and rappelling in laurel caverns. We had such a wonderful time, we don't want to risk going to any other bed and breakfast to be disappointed when comparing it to Hartzell House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

While visiting Fallingwater, we found a perfect little gem in the Laurel Highlands. Dave and Kitty were very attentive to all our needs, and our room was most relaxing. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing (they were very accommodating to those of us with food allergies without restraining the many menu options). We stayed in the Angler's Room, which felt just like home. From Check-in to Check-out, it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We now have a home away home in southwest PA.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This was the best B&B I have stayed in, and I have been in many. The innkeepers are exceptionally warm and welcoming, offering very helpful and accurate advice about restaurants and places to visit. I felt as if Kitty couldn't do enough for me, with her lovely way of asking if there was anything more we wanted or needed, always ready to pour another cup of coffee, make a suggestion, or help us out in any way. She and Dave made us feel so at home...no, even better than that! The house itself is spacious and lovely, with a number of unique rooms and large but cozy common areas for lounging and dining. Cushy couches and a roomy chair and a half added greatly to the comfort of the living rooms. I almost wish the weather was less pleasant so I would have had more of an excuse to curl up with one of their many good books, games or videos. We stayed in the roomy Artist Suite which included a private bath with a great jacuzzi, and organic and botanical bath and body products including mint, cucumber and yogurt which were so delightful I wasn't sure whether we should use them or eat them! Kitty's eye for design, furnishings and color is outstanding. Each space has its own character, with charming and interesting elements, but an overall feel of great comfort and relaxation. The pantry loaded with snacks, coffee, teas and other beverages, and the little dishes of chocolates stashed around the rooms were a wonderful touch, to say nothing of the home-baked chocolate chip cookies we came back to in the afternoon. Breakfasts can't be beat - fresh, wholesome, delicious and so beautifully decorated with berries and edible flower garnishes. I loved the vegetable omelet I had one morning which was exceptional for each garden fresh vegetable having been individually sauteed to retain their color, flavor and integrity. I know Dave is justly proud of his cinnamon buns, but I have to say that those chocolate cherry buns of his were even better, if that is possible. Although this was our first trip to Fallingwater and the Laurel Highlands, I know it won't be our last. I can't wait to return to Hartzell House, and next time I hope to bring my friends. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed for two wonderful nghts in this charming and spotless bed and breakfast in south central Pennsylvania . The home was beautifully decorated and the rooms were interesting and very comfortable. The owners, Kity and Dave were gracious hosts with just the right touch of hospitality and service. The breakfast was out of this world, with unique choices and delicious fruit and homebaked goods. Addison, PA is a great location to enjoy the river valley area , Falling Water and Fort Necessity. We will certainly return there on our next visit !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.