We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pay for Three, Get 1 Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

If you're going to stay anywhere near Fallingwater, this is the best place to stay. The decor is fabulous, the hosts Kitty and David are gracious and unstinting in their efforts to make sure your experience is the best you'll ever have. It's impossible to list all that is good about Hartzell House - we were made to feel like family. The surrounding area is tremendous with great restaurants and antique shopping. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
229
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Hartzell house provided us with a relaxing, peaceful and appetizing getaway. Kitty and Dave are the most hospitibal and welcoming hosts, clearly in love with their chosen occupation and each other! Proud Marine parents and amazing cooks. They have done a truly beautiful job of decorating the home they choose to share. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, WV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We just returned from a cozy stay at Hartzell House B & B. We chose Hartzell House for our lodging between visits to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. We couldn't have been more pleased. I knew I had made a good choice because I had gone over the reviews at TripAdvisor many times, but I was still blown out of the water with the large (and small) thoughtlful details. We happened to arrive during a snowy evening after touring Fallingwater. The bed and breakfast, although built in the late 1800's, was warm, cozy and welcoming. They have historically restored the house, keeping its classic charm but adding many new features. You forget the house is from the 1800's but also aren't overwhelmed with features too new for the bones of the house. We stayed in the old part of the house, the Teacher's Room. The bathroom for this room was directly across the hall and was BEAUTIFUL! It has two pedestal sinks, a very nice bathtub/shower combo, and obviously a toilet. Lots of room in the bathroom and two people can get ready at the same time. Great water pressure too! None of those old bathroom problems-it's completely new!
We can't say enough positive things about this place. In fact, we shouldn't say much more because you still want to be delighted by the surprises once you arrive!
The breakfasts ARE amazing as the other guests have noted. I had the best french toast of my life and my husband's quiche was perfect! The coffee was good and the fruit salad and homemade roll stuffed with cherries and chocolate were beautiful!
The hosts are very friendly, give you a tour when you arrive to make you feel even more welcome, but give you space too. We've visited bed and breakfasts a number of times and feel this place has all the best qualities! I'm plotting my escape back to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast for another stay! Maybe this time we'll come in the summer for kayaking and hiking through the Ohiopyle!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Although this is long overdue, we still felt it necessary to write this review as this was just an excellent experience. My boyfriend and I work way too much and just needed a place to "unplug" for a weekend. We arrived and were welcomed outside by the cat who was incredibly friendly and very cute. I was almost sure the cat was going to let us in and show us where everything was located! The owner (Kitty) greeted us at the door and gave us the quick tour and showed us to our room. It was absolutely fabulous. We both immediately fell asleep as the bed was so comfortable. The late afternoon wine and dessert was fabulous and breakfast the next morning was even better. Dave and Kitty were so friendly and accommodating. This was the perfect location for our visit to Fallingwater the next day. Thanks again to Kitty and Dave for such a wonderful experience. We would definitely reccommend this place to everyone and we will definitely attempt to make a trip back to The Hartzell House.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Kitty, Owner at Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2009
Thank you for such a glowing review!
I just need to note for our allergy prone guests that the cat was never allowed in the B&B. He was quite old and has since passed away, but gave us and our visitors fond memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

After attending a conference in Pittsburgh we decided to make a short detour on the way home to see the famous Fallingwater and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Kitty & Dave were wonderful and breakfast was amazing! On our first night we were relaxing in the parlour and using the wifi when Kitty offered us a glass of wine, dessert and then she started a fire! A perfect fall evening. The house itself is perfect, every detail has been though of. We stayed in the Trapper room on one of the most comfortable beds ever.

In general there was a lot more to the area than we realized once we began planning our trip. We jam packed our two short days in the area, and I only wish we had one more night in the area. We stayed during the peak of fall foilage which I highly recommend to anyone else trying to decide when to visit the area. In two days we visited Fallingwater, Ft. Necessity and did several hikes in the Ohiopyle park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This was by far the best B&B experience my husband and I have had!!! We have stayed at numerous B&B's and usually something is missing--sometimes the room and hosts are great, but the food is mediocre.....or maybe the food is good at a B&B, but the hosts are cold or the room is less than satisfactory. Not the case at the Hartzell House! Everything was a 10!

The room was wonderful--clean, plenty of storage, great bathroom, comfortable bed, beautifully decorated.

The food was exceptional-- the best waffles my husband has ever had! Fresh fruit and warm pastries--and then followed by a wholesome warm breakfast of your choice--with three options. And snacks are provided for later in the day---what a nice treat to have home made chocolate chip cookies every evening!

Kitty and David are the friendliest and most helpful inn keepers you will ever meet--Kitty told me it has been her dream to have a B&B--and you can tell this is a passion for them. They really care that you have a great experience--this is not just a business for them. Kitty helped me find a romantic place for our anniversary dinner and even made the reservations for us. David was a life saver when he graciously jumped our car battery after we found it dead Saturday morning--and he did this in the middle of a rain storm so we would not be late for our reservations at Falling Water.

I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Kitty and Dave are wonderful. The surprise cake ordered ahead of time was perfectly placed in the room. The house and the rooms were impeccable. Treats abound, all over the house! Any special requests were handled with ease. They recommended several excellent restaurants and are very knowledgeable about the area. Drive to Fallingwater is easy. Choose the Angler room, the best in the east wing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House b&b
Hartzell House Hotel Addison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.