We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pay for Three, Get 1 Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hartzell House is the perfect weekend getaway whether it is to visit Fallingwater or just to take in the beautiful scenery in the area. Kathryn and David are without a doubt the hostesses with the mostess. From their local dining and sightseeing recommendations to returning home from dinner to a cozy fire, homemade dessert, and a glass of wine, and the beautiful accommodations and delicious (and filling) breakfast. Every detail of this bed and breakfast is carefully thought out and it’s clear that Kathryn and David truly care about their client's experience. We would highly recommend the Hartzell House to anyone interested in visiting Fallingwater and everyone else we know!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
229
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Great bed and breakfast in a very convenient location. The B & B is located in the heart of western PA rafting tours and only a half hour from Franklin Lloyd Wrights' masterpiece "Falling Water" . There is so much to do in the area and would recommend 4 or 5 days to take it all in. The Travelers room we stayed in was very romantic, warm and inviting. Extremely comfortable bed and beautiful artistry. Kitty and David are so welcoming and we immediatly felt at home. The breakfast is to die for! They offered generous portions which filled us up for most of the day. I highly recommend this B & B and we plan on visiting by the end of the summer!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

My boyfriend and I visited Hartzell House for Thanksgiving to avoid the holiday stress. Our stay could not have been more perfect. Kitty and David went out of there way to make everything extra special. They went above and beyond what we expected, packed us lunch and snacks to take on our daytrips and even invited us into their home to play pool! We couldn't have imagined a better trip.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

My friend and I stayed in this lovely B&B for two nights while visiting Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob in the Laurel Highlands. We occupied two of the three bedrooms on the second floor of a restored Victorian Gothic house. My room (called the Trapper's room, I think) was very comfortable, with beautiful bedding, a writing desk, good lighting and a sink in the corner. A very well-appointed bathroom was down the hall. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious -- homemade cinnamon buns, fruit, and a choice of several main courses (quiche, oatmeal, eggs, pancakes, etc...). The location was convenient to the local attractions, and the owners, Kitty and David, provided excellent directions and recommendations. The hosts could not have been nicer or more accommodating. A great value at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We are fairly experienced B&B goers and our all too brief stay at Hartzell House was near perfect. Kitty and David have done an exquisite job restoring and decorating the place and truly make you feel right at home. We had a 4 1/2 hour ride to Addison in the dark, rain and fog but when we arrived were immediately invited to relax in the parlor with amazing carrot cake and a glass of wine (ok, not a usual combination but it worked that night) even though it was nearly 10 pm. We stayed in the cozy Trapper Room and lucked out having the usually shared bathroom all to ourselves. BTW, the bathroom is gorgeous (with great water pressure), plus is outfitted with every imaginable bathroom need. Breakfasts were two-course gourmet meals, and this is the first time we've ever been given a choice which is nice. Snacks and beverages are always available, too, at no cost. It really was a help yourself environment. An added bonus was that our housemates were really cool folks, too. The only thing that made our stay near perfect instead of perfect was the bed was too soft for us. Guess we're getting old and need firmer mattresses! We came to visit the Wright houses, so the B&B location was perfect. We definitely plan on coming back on our motorcycle to explore the area some more...and to spend more time with Kitty, David, Ed Asner (the dog) and the very talkative cat that lives outdoors. Last but certainly not least, we think this place is a steal. We've paid a lot more for far less.

  • Liked — Beautiful and welcoming
  • Disliked — the soft bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevy chase, md
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

What a delightful stay mom and I had on our recent trip to Falling Water. Hartzell House is relatively new as a B&B, but looks and feels like it has been at this for years. The house is lovely inside and out; the decor is charming and comfortable, the bedrooms are nicely sized, well appointed, and the beds are to die for. Owners David and Kitty are warm and friendly, and the breakfast choices are outstanding. The B&B is about 45 minutes from Falling Water, but dinner choices in the area are limited. Highly recommend Hartzell House!

  • Liked — bedroom - great mattress, terry robes, attractiveness
  • Disliked — not much in the area for dinner - either resort and expensive or local diners or taverns
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Kitty, owner at Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2008
Hartzell House is 30 minutes (22 miles) from Fallingwater and Frank Lloyd Wright's lesser known gem, Kentuck Knob. We also list many fine and casual dining establishments within a 13 to 30 minute drive fo HH on the 'Area Resource' page of our website.
The Mountain may not be as conveniently concentrated as the city, but it offers up some gems for those willing to seek them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We booked the Traveller Room at Hartzell House (one of 3 rooms) for 3 nights. We were in the area to visit Fallingwater and hike around the area.

The house is beautiful and the breakfasts were excellent and very healthy. The hosts use the freshest products and are mindful of dietary restrictions. Our room was extremely clean and very comfortable. There is a lovely living room with access to CDs and DVDs. There is also a nice dining room and computer room with wireless.

The hosts were very gracious and made us feel comfortable as soon as we arrived. We highly recommend this location if you are looking to re-energize in a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House b&b
Hartzell House Hotel Addison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.