We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They thought of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“They thought of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As we're driving through rural PA, I kept wondering where a supposedly awesome B and B would be located. We were not disappointed one bit! What a gorgeous house. The common rooms and bedroom (we stayed in the Teacher's room) were decorated with pride and spotlessly clean. Lovely antiques and interesting artwork were featured in every room. Kitty welcomed us and took our breakfast order, reading the options like a five-star restaurant server. She accommodated our wish for extra-early morning coffee. The food was delicious and prepared with real care. I only wish they would open a restaurant- they would be the best in the area by far. This place is a real find. Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Teacher's room which shares a bathroom with another room (it was the last avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
241
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay one night before visiting Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob and came across the Hartzel House at the Fallingwater website. After checking the reviews at TA we decided to stay there and in a nutshell this is a highly reviewed B&B because the experience is exceptional.

Dave was very courteous when we arrived and showed us the B&B, explaining some details of the property ownership and suggested to us a place to have dinner. We were impressed by how clean the whole property is and how beautifully decorated it is.

We stayed in the Trapper’s Room in the west wing of the property. It was spacious enough for us and though it does not have its own private bathroom the shared one was pristine clean with quality amenities. The only thing that we would have changed is that we are used to firm mattresses and the one in the bad was on the soft side for us.

The icing of the cake was the breakfast: it is phenomenal! By Dave’s influence I ordered the French toast with ginger syrup while my wife ordered the frittata and they were both superb. The smoothie (Kitty’s I believe) was also splendid. They are both gracious hosts.

We regretted that this time we could only stay one night. Next time we visit the region the Hartzel House will be in the top of our list of places to stay. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location of the Hartzell house is convenient to anyone visiting the Laurel Highlands and Fallingwater. Kitty and David have a very comfortable and charming home with many nice touches. We stayed in the Artists Suite and enjoyed the décor and comfort of the room. Breakfast was delicious- especially the ginger scones hot out of the oven. Kitty and David are very helpful with information about the area as well as making reservations at a nearby restaurant for us the evening of our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield Center, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Anyone touring Fallingwater or in the area should consider the Hartzell House B&B. What a lovely B&B. Charming decor, clean, unique and comfortable rooms and friendly innkeepers, Kitty and David make you feel welcome. To top it all off, the breakfast was wonderful. Kitty was especially helpful with suggestions on interesting attractions to stop and see while on the next leg of our road trip. The Hartzell House also has comfy "public" areas where you can relax, read a book, play a game of pool and meet the other guests. Very unique spaces! Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathrooms so be aware of that when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've stayed in a number of B&B's over the years and David and Kitty's Hartzell House is, by far, the best one yet. Communication from start to finish was perfect, the premises is spacious, clean, tastefully appointed (no craft themes to contend with) and peacefully quiet. David and Kitty's knowledge of area with their resources and recommendations are spot on. And then there's the food; I'll gladly sleep in the barn if it'll get me breakfast! We'll be back...for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is beyond excellent! The breakfast was heaven. What a stay! It was like an oasis in the sea of this mad world. They even fixed my glasses! Dave and Kitty are masters. Relax and enjoy and let it envelope you.

Room Tip: Stay in the original main home. The charm and warmth is unimaginable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friend and I recently shared the Patriot's Suite overnight when we visited Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. David and Kitty helped to make our quick 2 day trip a real pleasure. We found a great place for dinner after our first tour, thanks to the recommendations they provided. Our suite was very comfortable and well appointed. I have stayed in lots of B&Bs, and they more than passed my test of what I look for: lots of open spaces in the bedroom and bath to put things, lots of hooks to hang things, a comfortable bed, and spotlessly clean. They also were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions, yet still provide me a lovely breakfast. I felt just a pampered as everyone else. Thank you David and Kitty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House b&b
Hartzell House Hotel Addison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.