We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Gracious Hosts, Lovely Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pay for Three, Get 1 Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Gracious Hosts, Lovely Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had a weekend event at the Bear Run Nature Conservancy and Falling Water so we decided to go back to Hartzell House for the second time. The inn is located in Addison, PA which is a quaint and very quiet little town just off the historic Route 40, Old National Pike. We stayed in the newer section of the house which has a great room with big screen TV and a dining room with pool table. David and Kitty are extremely gracious hosts and we enjoyed their company as they prepared breakfast from behind the breakfast bar. Breakfast included great service, great coffee, gourmet pancakes with unique ginger syrup the first day and an fabulous egg dish the second day. We had a very comfortable stay and I would definitely recommend this B&B if you are visiting the Laurel Highlands.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
229
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed two nights while visiting Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, and were very happy to have selected Hartzell House. David and Kitty are perfect hosts. They could not have been more accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious, creative, and beautifully presented. Our room - and the entire inn - was spotless, charming, comfortable, and interesting. From what we could see, Hartzell House is the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrardstown, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Kitty and David were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to meet our travel needs. The accommodations were lovely. They were making some improvements in the gardens while we were there. I would love to see the finished product. We stayed in the Artists Room; the bathroom for that room is in the hall outside the room (it is private, however), but it only had a hand shower. If you want a regular shower, you may want to select another room. Hartzell House is 1/2 hour from Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. We had a very nice experience and would definitely return and recommend to others.
Wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Kitty and David were excellent hosts! The attention to detail made our stay comfortable and relaxed. The breakfast was a hit and David's cinnamon rolls were worth the trip alone. We high recommend The Hartzell house and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great B&B! David & Kitty are super people. The beds are comfortable, the furnishings are beautiful, & David's gourment breakfast is delicious. Nice, quiet location, but close to major attractions in southwestern PA like Ohiopyle, Falling Water, Fort Necessity Battlefield. Also, close to northeastern W.VA & northwestern MD. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarentum, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband and I first stayed at the Hartzell House back in July, 2009, when we stayed for 8 days. I just happened upon it while looking for a place near Deep Creek. We absolutely fell in love with the place as well as Kitty and Dave. The little "town" of Addison is quaint and the people wave at everyone as they drive/walk by. Food, atmosphere, accomodations, and the owners were great!! They pay attention to you, but don't hover. It has become our home away from home as this past May was our 4th trip and we have booked another long weekend in July. If you're looking for relaxation and being pampered, this is the place to go. As far as the breakfasts? They're a delicious work of art. No detail is overlooked.

Room Tip: Patriot and Artist suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was an absolutely wonderful bed and breakfast. Kitty and David are wonderful hosts and so kind. The house is very large and rooms are immaculate. We were very comfortable here and will definitely be back! And breakfast was amazing. Best breakfast I have ever had. Really. Food was fresh and cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main Street, Addison, PA 15411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House b&b
Hartzell House Hotel Addison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.