We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a gorgeous hotel that was very clean and had pretty views. My husband and I were given a room overlooking the pool. As we like to sleep and rise early, this was definitely a mistake as many families and teens were out at the pool until late. We could have asked for a different room, but didn't think to. There were a lot of renovations going on while we were there, so soon there will be many more beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: If you don't mind late night noise, ask for a room overlooking the pool. Otherwise, ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    57
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
73
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything about the Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites is great except for the air conditioner in the room -- it turned itself on and off repeatedly for hours at a volume that was simply ridiculous, until we finally gave up and turned it off and just slept, at a higher than desired temperature, under or on top or a sheet -- this on a night when the exterior temperature was in the high 50"s. Maybe our room was unique in this -- I hope so for other travelers' sake.

Room Tip: Check the sound volume of the in room air conditioner before agreeing to stay in it -- or have ear p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
We sincerely apologize about the A/C unit in your room and that is definitely not the standard for our hotel. We would love to hear from you about which room this was in so that we can be sure that the issue has been addressed and we would also like to invite you back for a night so that we can give you the kind of stay and service that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Jennifer Barnes
Hotel Manager, Ashland Hills Hotel
jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Other than a loud air conditioner that went on and off all night until we got up and turned it off, preferring to be hot, this was a nice place to stay. Good bed and retro furnishings (reminded me of the furniture I grew up with) made for an otherwise pleasant stay. The breakfast was fine, too

Room Tip: Ask if there are windows you can open on upstairs floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest:
We are happy to hear that you found your room comfortable, and sincerely apologize that you had an issue with your AC unit. While we try to keep up maintenance on the AC units as much as possible, we would greatly appreciate knowing what room you were in so that we can address the situation and make sure that the unit is working correctly. Taking care of these issues for our guests quickly and trying to prevent this from occurring is very important to us and we are sorry that the unit was not working correctly during your stay with us.

We do hope that you give us another try in the future, as we would love to hear from you so that we can invite you back and make sure that you have a wonderful stay with us.

Thank You,
Jennifer Barnes
Hotel Manager, Ashland Hills Hotel
jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I were driving north from the SF Bay area and decided to make the trip leisurely but stopping for the night in Ashland. While I drove, my wife found the Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites on Trip Advisor and we booked the night shortly before arriving.
Beside scoring an AARP rate, we would have been happy to pay the full rate for a very nice hotel room. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was nice. It's a little bit away from downtown Ashland but this did not distract from the stay.
It was very conveniently located by the Interstate which made the morning's departure that much easier.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your night with us. Hopefully next time you will get to make a trip to see more of Ashland. There are many activities and things to see in our area, including a local wineries just up the road. We actually have a great little package right now that includes a tasting and appetizer for two at one of them just a couple minutes from our hotel. If wine isn’t your thing, we have other packages throughout the year that you may be interested in.

Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you soon!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Still undergoing renovation, so only a portion of the hotel is open. Our room was on the ground floor and opened on the landscaped grounds around the pool. It was very nice and quiet. Not a business hotel, but there was one, industrial-looking, multi-outlet for charging phones and laptops on a bedside table. Wi-fi was good. Breakfast was standard fare for hotels of this type, with yogurt, scrambled eggs, bagels, oatmeal, etc. Even though the breakfast seating area seemed large, there were a lot of people at breakfast and we had to wait for a seat. The staff tried very hard to keep the food coming fast enough. Friendly staff. We had a very good rate that made this an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay. So often you see hotel pools surround by concrete and nothing else. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and courtyard view. The park benches out there are great now that the weather has warmed up. It gives you the option to move off of your patio and enjoy the sun and grass.

With this property opening originally in 1978, there was a need to add more plugs for all the devices that have become so common these days. We are happy that the addition of this outlet worked to your advantage.

We do apologize that you had to wait for a table at breakfast. We are still working out some kinks as this is a new amenity for the hotel. With more rooms still to be added we will have to look into a way to make sure guests don’t feel rushed with their breakfast, and that there isn’t a wait for a table.
Again, thank you for your review and feedback we greatly appreciate it, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long day of road tripping, we were greeted by very pleasant & friendly staff! Hotel was very clean-recent new carpet and paint. Suite slept 6 comfortably. Couch pull out bed was comfy. Free breakfast was nice, but get there early. They clean up promptly at 9:30. Will absolutely stay here on next visit to beautiful Ashland, Oregon.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:
We are so pleased to hear that your first impression was that of our friendly staff. They work so hard to make everyone feel welcome. All of our pull out couches are brand new, but limited to certain rooms. We do advise mentioning the need for this when making your next reservation.

We also now have a family room that offers a King bed and then a room in the back with 2 additional beds. This might be a more comfortable option if traveling again with 6 people.

Thank you for reviewing you stay, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted by friendly staff who offered us cookies.
This place is undergoing renovation. Our room was nice but I didn't like that we had no television in our bedroom. We had to go to adjacent living room to watch tv together. Also, this tv located in an awkward place in room so we could not sit comfortably.
The couch was old and had a kind of smokers smell to it as well as your hands felt dirty and smelled like old cigarettes. They should really get new couches.
Long walk to pool/spa from our room.
The breakfast consisted of someone showing up to your room with some bread for you to toast, juice and yogurt . You have a small kitchenette, so if you needed to stay for a while you can bring your own food.
Beautiful views of the mountains from our room. This place could be amazing with a few changes.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest:
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Ashland Hills Hotel.
I do apologize that not everything was up to par in your room. It sounds like you had stayed in the middle of a new block of rooms being opened. I can assure you that all of our suites now have the two flat screen tvs, one in the bedroom, one in the sitting area. We now have new couches for the suites and are awaiting the arm chairs and we are continuing to update and offer new experiences for our guests to enjoy.

With our property being on 14 acres, and our suites building being the most recent addition to the property, it can feel like a bit of a walk to get to the pool area. Thankfully there are multiple was to get to any one area of the hotel to the other. We now also offer many guest rooms with patios leading right out to the pool area and would love the opportunity to show you our expanded rooms on your next trip to Ashland.

We also have recently opened our breakfast room. There is a large variety of bread items, cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs and a pancake machine.
We hope that you will join us again the next time you are in town so see the changes that have already been made and to see those that are still coming.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 100 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Groupon so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.