We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A last minute decision to rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Year Special
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“A last minute decision to rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband, 3 daughters & I were on our way home to Seattle, WA after driving thru 5 states in 6 days. We decided to stay here after I googled a place to stay and they came up with the best reviews. We were not disappointed - Sonya was wonderful with getting us checked in quickly when this very tired family pulled up at 4am. The room was great & we enjoyed our short stay with them ! Would definitely recommend them to family & friends !

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor guest,
Thank you for your kind words and review. We can relate to the late night and unplanned hotel stays, and how it can be difficult when traveling long distances with the whole family, and we are just so pleased that we were able to have you stay with us and how much you enjoyed it. We will pass the kudos along to Sonya for a job well done as well. Hopefully we get to see you on your next trip and that you will be able to spend a little time in our lovely town and enjoy all that Ashland and our hotel has to offer.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    43
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
54
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place. Well maintained, no additional cost for our dog. Suite was in great shape with lots of room. Looks like they are updating other rooms on the site. Only drawback was the limited breakfast that came with it and that had to be ordered the night before. Lobby area is very nice. Be sure to check out Caldera Brewery down the street. You'll get a discount if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us at Ashland Hills Hotel. We are still in the process of updating the property since we obtained ownership a little over a year ago and we are greatly looking forward to offering more and more for our guests to enjoy. Part of that process is opening a breakfast room area on our mezzanine, so that we can offer a larger variety of breakfast options for our guests to enjoy and we are looking forward to it being completed this spring. It’s always nice to know that the restaurants in our area are taking care of our guests as well.

We greatly look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While on a long weekend get away, we stayed over night at the Ashland Hills Hotel. We thought we would go over to the coast for the next couple of days but since we liked Ashland and this hotel we decided to just do some day excursions and remain here. It is such a wonderful hotel. The front staff were so welcoming. The hotel lobby has been updated with tasteful furniture and interesting art work. When we arrived to our room we were very pleased with the cleanliness of the entire room, comfort of the bed linens and bathroom. We couldn't here any noise from the other guests or the highway. The breakfast basket in the morning is a nice touch. It didn't fill us up but put food into our bodies until we started on our day! We are planning on staying here again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest
We are so pleased to hear about your stay with us! Our suites are larger than most, so it takes a lot of attention to detail to ensure everything is cleaned and ready for our guests. We want you to feel at home, so your comfort is a top priority. Southern Oregon has so many different places and activities to offer, it can be easy to get side tracked from your plans, and we are so pleased that you decided to extend your stay with us and enjoy more of what Ashland has to offer. When you decide to visit again, we would be happy to help you plan your time here and greatly look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Ashland Hills hotel & suites. We stayed in the suites area and the room was really nice with a large TV and several chairs to choose from to kick back in. There's a little kitchen area with small fridge that has a small freezer area. They also have a toaster and micowave. Then there is a separate room with a comfy king bed and small TV for late night viewing. The service was very nice with smiles and inquires of how we were doing and if we needed anything. The biggest disappointment and one of the reasons for not giving 5 stars was the pool and jacuzzi were not up and running 2nd to winter. We love the jacuzzi in the winter. The rooms seamed to be very well insulated and coudn't hear your neighbors. It was a great deal with travel zoo and we'll be back and maybe even bring our dog next time since they are pet friendly.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TripAdvisor guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us and letting us know how much you and your family enjoyed the suite. We will be sure to let our staff know how nice they were and we are happy that you were able to enjoy all the amenities the room had to offer. Thank you for your feedback on the hot tub as well, this is a recently added amenity that we were able to offer to our guests, but due to the weather conditions we were not able to have it open year round as of right now. We are looking into options so that we can offer it year round and it will be open again around the middle of March for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and hope you get to enjoy our pool and hot tub during your next visit.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We were passing thru Ashland and found this hotel. It was very reasonable and they accepted pets, with no fee! It was very nice- super comfy bed with in a spacious suite. Staff was very helpful, especially when I accidentally booked the wrong date online. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: we had the suite that had a separate living room- it was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was and we are so happy to hear how helpful our staff was. It can be easy to select a wrong date online and we are always happy to help our guests in any way that we can to ensure they have a comfortable and relaxed stay with us. We agree that the beds here are extremely comfortable and are pleased that the room met all of your needs during your stay with us.

We greatly look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland and thank you for choosing the Ashland Hills Hotel.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Our family stayed here on the way down to California on a holiday road trip and we were so pleased with the large, quiet, comfortable and clean rooms that we chose to stay here on the way back as well. During our first stay we were in one of the suites which was older but bigger with a separate bedroom. There was a separate door with a 24/7 coffee and hot water station which was a nice touch. I used the fitness center which was really just a hotel room with a recumbent bike, a treadmill and an elliptical machine in it but it worked fine. On the return trip we stayed in one of the "new" rooms (I guess) which was very Spartan and very clean. The only thing that I think needs some improvement is the strange breakfast service they have going. They deliver a basket of unprepared stuff to your door in the morning. Our basket in the suites had toast which we had to toast without the benefit of plates to put our hot bread on. The "hot chocolate" option is a cup of hot water and a packet of instant cocoa. The coffee is a pot. You are supposed to use the cups provided in your room. It feels awkward and makeshift and not worth the money you have to tip the delivery person with, TBH. I didn't take any stars away for this because overall the place is a great value for the money and I'd recommend it to anyone heading that way.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:
We appreciate you taking your time to let us know about your experience with us at Ashland Hills. Since previous owners had shut the main building down years ago, we were having to work completely out of the suites building, converting one room into the business and fitness room. Now that we are under new ownership and undergoing remodeling, we have a new business center off of the main lobby and are working on getting the breakfast room open as well as a fuller fitness center in the main building by spring. That way we will be able to offer more options for our guests for breakfast and we are constantly looking at what we need to do to make our guests stay more enjoyable.

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was and give us feedback about the breakfast and we sincerely hope to see you on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This is a nice, newly renovated hotel. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. There is a vintage throwback feel, its like 70's ikea or modern European, not really sure but its something. The hotel staff were completely wonderful. The price was affordable and the quality exceeded my expectations. Then we were asked what options we wanted to breakfast and what time we would like it and sure enough at 8:30 am a little basket with fruit, yogurt, and pastries, coffee and OJ was left outside the door with a knock. The bedding was extremely comfortable. To be honest, I recently stayed at a 4 star hotel and this room beat the 4 star hotel by a mile. My husband and I were extremely impressed. Also it is close to the Caldera microbrewery pub :)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Each staff member is dedicated to making sure our guests not only feel welcomed, but also at home. Our breakfast snack that is brought to your door is a nice little start to the morning and one of those extra touches not really found anywhere else in the area.

The furniture in the lobby and the rooms have been recently renovated and were hand-picked by our owners to bring it back to the late 70’s when the hotel first opened. I personally like being able to show the new rooms off to guests, because it is so different and special and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying with us on your trip to Ashland.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.