We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel experience of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Ashland
1 review
“best hotel experience of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've never written a review other than for hotels.com, which actively solicits them, but this place deserves it. We paid in advance (not through hotels.com, but on the recommendation of a relative who lives in Ashland) and got a suite for only $100/night. The suite was immaculate and comfortable, with a balcony. Each morning breakfast was sent up to our room, with both the local paper and the Wall Street Journal (I would have rather had the NY Times). The staff was very helpful and cheerful. Future guests should be aware that, during our stay, they were in the process of rehabbing two other buildings in the complkex. Perhaps the rates will go up when they're done and the pool and other facilities are re-opened.

Room Tip: We faced the front. I probably would have rather faced the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
34
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we were traveling from Washington to California with two dogs and were so pleasantly surprised to find the Ashland Hill Hotel and Suites. The hotel is close to the freeway for convenience but far enough away not to hear it and to enjoy views of the surrounding hills. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our breakfast arrived on a tray with all sorts of goodies. There is a lovely grassy area to take the dogs out and the suite allowed us to close them in the bathroom/kitchen area. Having a kitchenette was terrific to keep our cooler items cold. A+

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We (husband and dos Eggs Ackley) have now stayed here 2 times. OUTSTANDING. Right off the highway, but exceptionally quiet. All rooms have bedroom, bath, sitting room, and efficiency kitchen. Plus a small patio. Plus access to barbeque area with gas grill, lounge chairs and tables. Plus Eggs has a huge green, well maintained grassy area to run himself silly. The area is once again away from roads and traffic and he can run without a leash. And there's tennis courts for those so inclined. A healthy breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning along with the newspaper. The staff are wonderful and helpful as well. Ashland is an upscale destination because of the Shakespeare festival, but Ashland Hills does not strut an overblown price tag. This is the best bargain for the price, plus consistent quality, I have yet to find in any hotel stay, regardless of the country.

Room Tip: We like any of the odd numbered ground floor rooms facing the barbeque area. They are quiet---no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very pleased with our stay at Ashland Hills Hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We were on the third floor in a room with a king bed and a pull out sofa bed. We had our kiddos with us so this worked out great. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were a little worried about not being right downtown Ashland but found it to be very easy to get to the downtown area. Will plan to stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed here twice when going to Shakespeare Festival. Nothing matches a nice B&B near the venues, but Ashland Hills is a relatively short and convenient drive. Staff is helpful. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very convenient to Freeway, and easy to find. Short drive from shopping center and restaurants. Interesting mountain views. Decent breakfast (included in rate) brought to door of room. If you can't get the charm of a 19th century B&B, this place at least gives you comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so happy we chose to stay overnight at Ashland Hills Hotel. It was quiet, comfortable and a great way to start our vacation. The staff was friendly, the room was wonderful and after a long day of driving, it was great to crawl into a comfortable bed with four! pillows. At the appointed time in the a.m. our breakfast was delivered to our room and was enough to get us going for the next leg of our journey. I highly recommend Ashland Hills.

Room Tip: I only can tell you that our room had a door that opened onto a small landing. We had a view of tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was!

It is always a pleasure to hear that you found our rooms and beds to be so comfortable for you and we will be recognizing our staff for the friendly service that they provided you with. We are also glad that you found our breakfast snack to meet your needs and that it was delivered on time during your stay with us.

We hope you had a wonderful trip and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati Philippines
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 days in July as a family.

LIKES:
I really loved the beds here but the advertised double beds seem to be undersized so it was a squeeze. All rooms are suites - very clean and great value. Wifi was free. More than enough parking. Laundry facilities (coin operated). Cookies upon check in.

Hmmmm:
The hotel was being renovated but the grounds were big that it didn't affect our stay at all. The breakfast was brought to our room every morning. I didn't care for the selection but it was adequate (toast, yogurt, juice, coffee/hot chocolate, granola bar and fruit).

DISLIKED:
The air-conditioning broke down on our 2nd night and we reported it around 9.30pm. The hotel staff on duty were not able to call management, maintenance (both not reachable) or do anything to rectify the situation. We had to sleep in the room that was warmer than the corridor outside. I have come to expect that when a guest is inconvenienced like this, the hotel either changes the room (not sure if it was full) or compensates somehow for the bad experience. In this instance, all we were told was that unfortunately we had paid our reservations in advance to the online site we booked at and since we were checking out there was nothing more they can do. I don't accept that as a good standard least of all the manager not being reachable at night (or it seems in the morning when we checked out). I find the reception staff tried but it seemed like it was 'beyond their authority' and the explanation was not adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was and we would like to greatly apologize for the inconvenience and for what occurred on your second night with us. We will be reviewing what happened and will be making sure that both management and maintenance are available for our guests at all times and reviewing with staff what to do in this type of situation. Unfortunately we were sold out for that night, so we did not have a room to move you to, but we should have addressed this issue more thoroughly to take care of you during your stay. This occurrence is definitely not up to our standards and we would like to offer you a complimentary night for a return stay if you would like to contact us at your convenience. We hope to see you the next time that you are in Ashland.

Thank You,

Ashland Hills Hotel
(541) 482-8310
Jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.