We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Ashland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value in Ashland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ashland can be a bit pricey in the summer, but this hotel did not disappoint again this year. Though part of the property is still under renovation, the wings that are open are very comfortable, clean, and the service is friendly and professional. We stayed here for a week, and returned to it for a couple more nights at the end of our Oregon trip. Though the property is large, having only two wings open almost gives the feel of a boutique hotel. The light breakfast that is delivered in the morning comes with a choice of local or WSJ newspaper. The grounds are beautiful, as are the view of the surrounding hills. Hotel has an on-site laundry facility that isn't over priced, and is very clean. We stayed on the second floor facing the hills, and the last two days in a ground floor room facing the interior grounds. I don't have a favorite. Both had nice views and were quiet.

Room Tip: Being on the side that faces the parking lot, is usually quiet, but we did have one night when a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
33
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've loved this hotel for our trips with the dog, but this time we came without her. We still enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms, the grounds, and the friendliness of the people. We do have one caution: if you want to sleep with your windows open (thank goodness, they do open, as do the doors to the balconies), ask for a room on the east side, not on the side toward the freeway. The west-facing side is noisy at night. Otherwise, though, our stay was just as good as always, and we went down the road to Morning Glory for breakfast--reason enough to stay in Ashland--so we didn't need the hotel breakfast but it's a nice perk. The rooms also have small fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, and kitchen sinks. The price is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter; rooms on the west face the noisy freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the large suite which easily accommodated our family. It was pet friendly and the grounds for walking the dog were close by. The setting is very pretty with nice views of Ashland hills. They provided a nice breakfast basket of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola bars. Orange juice, coffee and hot chocolate were also included. It will be really nice when the renovation is completed which will include a pool. Overall it was a very comfortable and staff friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs balcony rooms looked great! The pet friendly rooms are on the first floor with easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Part of this hotel has been refurbished and the other part and pool are under construction and not open yet. I liked the large rooms in the suite and the beautiful view of the hills from the balcony. It was completely full and latecomers made quite a lot of noise next door and above us. However, they grant requests for upper floors based on when the reservation was made and we didn't qualify. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay there. It was pleasant walking on the dog path and admiring the roses along the way and it was an easy drive to downtown. Front desk staff were helpful and resolved a problem for us cheerfully. Breakfast basket was made to order and appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was and we always appreciate all feedback. We are glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and that our front desk was so helpful and was able to resolve an issue that you had during your stay with us. We do always try to accommodate all guest requests and apologize that we were not able to meet all of your requests during your stay with us.

We will be reviewing with our staff more ways to try and ensure that all guest requests are met, but it can be harder to meet all requests during our peak season and we are very sorry that you had neighbors that were noisy during your stay with us. We take noise complaints very seriously and well also review with staff about performing walk arounds and quiet times of the hotel are made aware to all guests during their stay with us. We are looking forward to having more room options and remodeled areas in the next few months and hope to see you again on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival. Ashland Hills is not located in downtown, but it took us less than 10 minutes to drive. Room is very clean, big and comfortable. The double bed (not queen) is small for 2 people, but the bedding was so comfortable that I fell asleep right away. I was a bit nervous when I booked the hotel since it was one of the more affordable option. The hotel is going through a renovation, I think our room is not renovated yet. We can see the renovation on the other wings of the hotel. Can't wait to come back when it's done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of reopening some buildings that the previous owner had closed a few years ago and are looking forward to expanding our hotel and amenities to our guests in the near future. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate you letting us know how we are doing.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and we will hopefully have some added amenities for our guests in the very near future.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We have stay here frequently. These are suites; a small living room with the TV, microwave, refrigerator, sink (miniature kind of bar area), Very spacious bathroom and separate second sink. Very clean, spacious, well-maintained, and comfortable. The staff is always ready to be of service. Complimentary snacks for breakfast; coffee, juice, toast, and fruit delivered to your room with the newspaper. It is right off the freeway and a five minute drive to downtown Ashland. The rate is surprisingly low even during the Shakespeare Festival. We highly recommend this Ashland gem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would just like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We will be sure to let our staff know how clean your room was and how helpful you found us to be as well. We always enjoy helping our guests experience and know all that Ashland has to offer and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveling from San Diego to Vancouver stopped here and experienced best-in-class affordable lodging. Complimentary cookies at check in...a front desk courtesy call within a half hour to make sure that we were pleased with our suite...very clean accomodations... superb mattresses and bedding...three sinks in as many rooms - great for a family...breakfast and my choice of newspaper delivered to our door in the morning...laundry facilities on site. We will stay here next time we attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland or travel to Crater Lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we are so happy that you found everything to meet your needs while staying with us. We always strive to make our guests stay better and are always so pleased when we hear how we are doing and that you were able to experience all that we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.