We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year Special
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Falls Village, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Large very clean suites. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get up in the morning. It's true they are under construction but the part I'd the hotel we stayed in had no contruction and was beautiful if a little short on the ambiance. Did not see any of the "history" mentioned by previous reviewer. Some small parts of the rooms (tvs sinks etc) are a little outdated but made up for by that bed! My daughter had just completed a 100 mile ultra marathon in the mountains from Williams to Ashland and we all had been awake for 48 hours and were exhausted. There was no noise, a kitchenette that accommodated cooking her vegan late night supper and the hotel provided a great basket with extra plates and utensils! She rested in a king size bed just like ours. The price was very reasonable for what we received! Would definitely stay here again, can't wait to see what the Reno looks like!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the comfort of our beds and the breakfast snack that we deliver to your rooms in the morning. We too, are looking forward to the renovation completion of the rest of the facility and are hoping to have it open by early 2015 for our guests. As you mentioned the suites building that we are operating out of now does not have any construction going on and we are happy to be able to keep the quiet environment of the suites building for our current guests.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
53
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you need a place just for one night this place may do. The night we stayed the place was still a construction site. While we were not awakened by noise, the hall we were staying on had rooms still being worked on. I'd pass until they are done with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you letting us know that your stay with us was quiet during this time. We are glad to say that we are done for the moment working in the suites building that is currently in operation. We are proud to say that we are under new ownership and are working on remodeling and reopening the other buildings on property that were closed by the previous owners over 5 years ago. This will include remodeling the pool area, restaurant and other facilities that were shut down during that time as well. We look forward to being able to offer these extended amenities and rooms by early 2015 for our guests and we hope to see you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can highly recommend the Ashland Hills Hotel. The location is not central (it is right off the Interstate a few miles from town). What is lacking in location, though, it makes up with ambiance. Our room let out to a common area outside with tables; we enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and glass of wine outside. The rooms were nice, and the beds comfortable. There is a fridge in the room which was nice, and a living area with sofa. Breakfast was simple but fine. The staff were very friendly. It was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and enjoy our courtyard area during your stay and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We will pass this on to our staff and let them know how they are doing.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and were very impressed. Staff was very friendly . . . even getting us extra cookies (they have great fresh baked cookies in the afternoon . . . dont' miss them!).

Room was a one bedroom suite and extremely spacious. Bathroom you can reach from the bedroom or the living room. Fridge, coffee maker, etc. Unfortunately for us had had to take a 2 double bed room rather than a king. but the bed was fabulous . . . green pillows, sheets, etc. 2 closets plus drawer space so plenty of room to store whatever you bring. 2 televisions. A balcony with a nice view of the hills.

It is located on the main highway which is great if you are just passing through. Because of the busy roads you cannot walk to downtown or the Shakespeare theaters.We you could but I wouldn't recommend it due to the distance and traffic. But with the prices at the downtown hotels, it is a good tradeoff to stay here and then drive in.

Room was clean, recently refurbished and extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side get the view of the hills from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fresh baked cookies! We are happy that you enjoyed the views of your room and are always happy to help with parking options in downtown, as you noted we are a little far for walking purposes.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lompoc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful hotel. Happily, the king suite actually consists of a separate bedroom, unlike a particularly large chain that offers a "king suite" with only a wall as high as the bed to separate sleeping areas. Our room at the Ashland Hills Hotel was great. We were able to close the door to separate us from the kids who slept on a sufficient hide-a-bed. Our king bed was quite comfortable. The carpets were clean and cushy. I always inspect the bathroom upon arrival at any hotel looking for stray hairs from previous guests and found none here. Also, the breakfast basket was delivered promptly at our requested time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback! We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to sharing them with our staff!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the comfort and quiet of our rooms. We will also let our housekeeping know about the cleanliness of the bathrooms and are pleased that our standards met your inspection.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

when we checked into the ashland hills hotel i was informed that my 1st floor room was in the part of the hotel reserved for guests with pets. i could hear dogs barking from the front desk. when i asked why i wasn't told about the room's proximity to the pet rooms when i booked directly with the hotel, i was told that "most people know that we're pet friendly". wrong answer! i didn't know. moreover, "pet friendly" isn't the same thing as being booked into a room adjacent to howling canines. it was labor day weekend and i was stuck there for the night.

one the bright side- our suite was roomy and comfortable (though i could hear people walking around in the room above). i didn't hear barking dogs until the morning when i was awake, so it was less of a problem than it could have been. the hotel is on an ugly commercial strip, but in a pleasantly hilly area a few minutes from downtown ashalnd.

overall, i'd rate this hotel a bit below a 4- it's really quite acceptable for the price. however, surprising guests w/ news that they're located next to a kennel (i exaggerate) is bad form and accounts for the poor rating.

Room Tip: ask about the "pet friendly" policy. if you want to be away from the barking, make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are happy that overall your stay was pleasant but I sincerely apologize about the service that you received at check-in. We will be addressing this with all of our front desk staff immediately. This should not have been the response that you received and we should have offered more options for you so that your stay would have been more comfortable and quiet.

We hope that you will be willing to give us a second chance and I would like to send you a gift certificate for a return trip to Ashland. Please contact me whenever is convienant for you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barnes
Hotel Manager
jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
(541) 482-8310
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off the 5. The rooms are suites with kitchenettes. They give you a morning treat with tea or coffee @ the hour you request. We had a nice view of the hills from our balcony. The bed was really comfortable. As long as you don't mind having to drive to downtown Ashland, check this place out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your view from your room.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.