We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended. Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
London, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Recommended. Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can highly recommend the Ashland Hills Hotel. The location is not central (it is right off the Interstate a few miles from town). What is lacking in location, though, it makes up with ambiance. Our room let out to a common area outside with tables; we enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and glass of wine outside. The rooms were nice, and the beds comfortable. There is a fridge in the room which was nice, and a living area with sofa. Breakfast was simple but fine. The staff were very friendly. It was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and enjoy our courtyard area during your stay and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We will pass this on to our staff and let them know how they are doing.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
42
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and were very impressed. Staff was very friendly . . . even getting us extra cookies (they have great fresh baked cookies in the afternoon . . . dont' miss them!).

Room was a one bedroom suite and extremely spacious. Bathroom you can reach from the bedroom or the living room. Fridge, coffee maker, etc. Unfortunately for us had had to take a 2 double bed room rather than a king. but the bed was fabulous . . . green pillows, sheets, etc. 2 closets plus drawer space so plenty of room to store whatever you bring. 2 televisions. A balcony with a nice view of the hills.

It is located on the main highway which is great if you are just passing through. Because of the busy roads you cannot walk to downtown or the Shakespeare theaters.We you could but I wouldn't recommend it due to the distance and traffic. But with the prices at the downtown hotels, it is a good tradeoff to stay here and then drive in.

Room was clean, recently refurbished and extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side get the view of the hills from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback!

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fresh baked cookies! We are happy that you enjoyed the views of your room and are always happy to help with parking options in downtown, as you noted we are a little far for walking purposes.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lompoc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful hotel. Happily, the king suite actually consists of a separate bedroom, unlike a particularly large chain that offers a "king suite" with only a wall as high as the bed to separate sleeping areas. Our room at the Ashland Hills Hotel was great. We were able to close the door to separate us from the kids who slept on a sufficient hide-a-bed. Our king bed was quite comfortable. The carpets were clean and cushy. I always inspect the bathroom upon arrival at any hotel looking for stray hairs from previous guests and found none here. Also, the breakfast basket was delivered promptly at our requested time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback! We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to sharing them with our staff!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the comfort and quiet of our rooms. We will also let our housekeeping know about the cleanliness of the bathrooms and are pleased that our standards met your inspection.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

when we checked into the ashland hills hotel i was informed that my 1st floor room was in the part of the hotel reserved for guests with pets. i could hear dogs barking from the front desk. when i asked why i wasn't told about the room's proximity to the pet rooms when i booked directly with the hotel, i was told that "most people know that we're pet friendly". wrong answer! i didn't know. moreover, "pet friendly" isn't the same thing as being booked into a room adjacent to howling canines. it was labor day weekend and i was stuck there for the night.

one the bright side- our suite was roomy and comfortable (though i could hear people walking around in the room above). i didn't hear barking dogs until the morning when i was awake, so it was less of a problem than it could have been. the hotel is on an ugly commercial strip, but in a pleasantly hilly area a few minutes from downtown ashalnd.

overall, i'd rate this hotel a bit below a 4- it's really quite acceptable for the price. however, surprising guests w/ news that they're located next to a kennel (i exaggerate) is bad form and accounts for the poor rating.

Room Tip: ask about the "pet friendly" policy. if you want to be away from the barking, make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are happy that overall your stay was pleasant but I sincerely apologize about the service that you received at check-in. We will be addressing this with all of our front desk staff immediately. This should not have been the response that you received and we should have offered more options for you so that your stay would have been more comfortable and quiet.

We hope that you will be willing to give us a second chance and I would like to send you a gift certificate for a return trip to Ashland. Please contact me whenever is convienant for you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barnes
Hotel Manager
jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
(541) 482-8310
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off the 5. The rooms are suites with kitchenettes. They give you a morning treat with tea or coffee @ the hour you request. We had a nice view of the hills from our balcony. The bed was really comfortable. As long as you don't mind having to drive to downtown Ashland, check this place out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your view from your room.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property is located a little bit south of the main business district, but an easy 10 min drive away. It was apparently recently purchased, and most of the rooms are being renovated, in other buildings. Our suite has a large bathroom, kitchenette, comfortable sitting area with a small balcony. French doors separate the living area from the sleeping area, and both are furnished with tv. We had a lovely view of a field with mountains in the distance. Light breakfast is delivered to the room, along with a choice of either the WSJ, or the local newspaper. Cookies are baked every evening and hot coffee and tea are always available in the lobby area. Front desk staff are very friendly, and the price is great--especially for the Ashland area.

Room Tip: Check for building being renovated when you drive into the property, and ask for a room away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass this review on to our staff. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the view of your room and many of the other amenities that we offer, like the fresh baked cookies, and complimentary breakfast snack that is delivered to your room in the morning.

We did recently get purchased by a local company and are excited to say that we are currently working on reopening the buildings that were closed over 5 years ago from the previous owners. This project will not affect our current suites building which is still open, but we are looking forward to being able to soon offer more amenities for our guests in the next year.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here en route from Seattle to the Bay Area and were very impressed with the room size, as well as the fact that we didn't have to pay a fee for bringing our cat with us. The room was more like a suite, with the bedroom separate from a living area and mini kitchenette. The front desk folks were super friendly, and while we didn't take advantage of their breakfast service, it seemed like a nice feature. Also, the bed was SUPER comfortable. We will definitely make use of this spot again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review! We will be forwarding this on to our staff and recognize them for the service that they were able to provide you.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the size of your room and comfort of the beds and are always pleased to welcome our furry guests as well, free of charge. Our breakfast snack can be very nice for guests looking to relax and enjoy the comfort of their room in the morning and hope that you are able to take advantage of this amenity on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.