We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

First of all, this property is way away from downtown Ashland so you must get in your car and try to park downtown for any of the shows. They put us in a room on the 3rd floor that vibrated off and on all night long. It was a horrible night's sleep for those of us on the pull out couch and those all sleeping in the bed. They offered us nothing in adjustment on our bill when we complained the next morning at check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the way that you treated upon check out and the lack of response in addressing this issue. We have addressed this with our staff and will be looking into the cause of noise that was in your room that disturbed your stay with us.

The quality of your stay and customer service does not meet our standards in any way and I would love to discuss it further with you and refund your stay with us. Please contact me at your convenience at the number or email below as we would also like to send you a complimentary night for a return visit in hope that you will give us a second chance.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barnes
Hotel Manager
jennifer.barnes@ashlandhillshotel.com
(541) 482-8310
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
40
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After reading the reviews for this hotel, we decided to book it on our way to California. Check in was quick and easy. We had a room on the second floor. The room was very clean. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on in a hotel. The bathroom was nice and clean. I like that there was a t.v. in the living room and one in the bedroom. There was a sink and a mini fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and microwave. The breakfast basket they brought to our room the next morning was wonderful. It was nice to have it brought to our room and not have to drag the kids down for breakfast. There was bread for toast, English muffins, butter, jams, bananas, oranges, granola bars, orange juice, and coffee. Everything was very nice. I highly recommend this place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
"Finally......"

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review on your stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and will let our staff know that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and overall stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast being delivered to your room and the comfort of our beds during your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family is traveling around the Cascades, and this hotel provided the perfect two-night stay. Though skeptical as we drove into the parking lot, we found it to be exceptionally clean and very well appointed on the inside. Unlike in many traditional rooms where we are tripping over one another and our belongings, the Ashland Hills room is a true suite in which everyone has plenty of personal space. The lounging area contains a sofa, chair, desk, tv cabinet, and breakfast bar. The bedroom, with two VERY COMFORTABLE queens, is spacious with a separate vanity and tv. The bathroom is large and provides a second vanity area around the sink. The location is just a short drive (less than 10) from the Shakespeare Theater complex.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
"Perfect Stay!!"

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went and we are very happy that our hotel was able to exceed your expectations. Our driveway is unique at this time, but we are happy to report that we are in the process of expanding our hotel and will be able to extend our amenities and accessibility to our guests, hopefully in the next year!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and Thank You for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Again, not "5 stars" as in the Four Seasons, but in terms of value and enjoyment, it could not get any better. We are traveling with a small dog, so lodging choices are limited. This hotel had an immaculate quiet room, good quality furnishings, a lovely courtyard, HUGE pet area, and the best mattress we have slept on EVER. Our King room was a suite, with mini kitchen. Really appreciate having two sinks, one outside the shower/toilet area. Also, the bedroom had doors to truly separate it from the bath and the living area, with tv's in both rooms.

Breakfast delivered at our requested time was great - very simple, but also very portable. We could drink our coffee and eat some toast, then take the fruit and granola bars with us for a snack. Complimentary WSJ and local paper was a nice touch.

Took about five minutes to drive downtown. The desk clerk was knowledgeable about parking for OSF, and gave good dining advice. This is a clean, safe, comfortable hotel, and you get much more than you paid for. I was picking wild blackberries while my dog ran around in the pet area!

No pool is probably a deal-breaker for families, as it was very hot in Ashland. On the other hand, if you prefer a hotel that is not overrun with traveling teams of 12-year-old softball players, this is the place for you :-)

Room Tip: We didn't have a courtyard view, but if you are on the first floor with a courtyard view you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
"Stay Here!"

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will let our staff know about your experience.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our beautiful grounds and the comfort of the mattress in your room. Our front desk will also be recognized in being able to provide you with their knowledge about the area. We are always pleased to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay while here in Ashland.

We are pleased to announce that we have plans that include renovating and opening the entire property with over 200 guest rooms, a conference center, a restaurant and lounge in June 2014, and most importantly the Pool and Hot tub area as well. In the meantime, we hope our guests enjoy all-suites building that overlooks beautiful hills of Ashland.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year and enjoying our newly remodeled property.

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was clean and nicely furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the freeway,and just a mile from downtown Ashland. The view from our balcony was spectacular. The mattress was soft and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent several days at the Ashland Hills Hotel around the 4th of July 2013. The rooms are Suites and very spacious,come equipped with a frig, microwave, toaster and a coffeemaker ( mini kitchen) that came in handy. Every morning they deliver a basket with either toast or english muffins with butter, marjorine, banana , orange, two bottles of Tropicana OJ, some jelly packets and two granola bars. This is because they do not yet have a restaurant on the premises. Our stay was uneventful and the hotel is very comfortable with plenty of free parking and the use of free bicycles. The scenery is breahtaking and once they open the new wing which will probably have a restaurant and a swimming pool Ithink this will make this hotel GREAT. When we inquired about shuttle pick up by the hotel they told us to call Cascade Limo Airport Shuttle, in Ashland Oregon, at (541)488-1998. I called Cascade a couple of days before our arrival, gave them my flight information, and asked the usual questions and I found them very accommodating, reasonably priced and friendly. When the plane landed the owner of Cascade Limo called me and told me where she was parked and asked if we needed any help retrieving our lugage. That was very nice to hear that she would come and help me with our luggage, and she did. I was so thrilled when she told me about the history and showed me some highlights of Ashland when we traveled to our hotel. Since she was so accommodating I immediately scheduled her to pick me up on my departure day. On my departure day her husband picked us up and took us to the airport, even helped us into the terminal and made sure we were as settled as one could be berfore being looked over by the TSA. I tell you if you are going to Medford or Ashland you should call Cascade Limo, they are great.

Room Tip: We found our rooms facing the hills and farms to be very scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I tend to go to Ashland three to four times a year. I love the city and I loved the hotel, The Windmill Suites. Anyways, without much notice, I found myself in Ashland a week or two ago. In need of a hotel I went to the location of my favorite hotel only to find that it had changed to the Ashland Hills Hotel. While the people were familiar, the hotel was missing something and the price seemed a bit bloated from what I remembered. This leaves me questioning if I will ever return to the skeleton of my favorite hotel. I wish the new ownership the best of luck, but I might end up going elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided. Our family-owned company has just purchased this property that has been partially closed for the last 5 years. Changes are being applied daily and any customer feedback is always very appreciated.

Our plans include renovating and opening the entire property with over 200 guest rooms, a conference center, a restaurant and lounge in June 2014. In the meantime, we hope our guests enjoy all-suites building that overlooks beautiful hills of Ashland. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and enjoying our newly remodeled Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites.

Sincerely,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.