We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update your stars,Ashland Hills Hotel is great,take your puppy too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Ashland
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Update your stars,Ashland Hills Hotel is great,take your puppy too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Once again we are at the Ashland Hills Hotel,in Ashland Oregon.Our host,Danielle,is wonderful ,making sure our air conditioning is on prior to arrival, due to a heatwave,so the room is blissfully cool, then delivering a kitchen kit with plates and corkscrew.We got food to go from Ashland Food Co-op on 1st street.Fabulous organic fresh items, an upgrade from most restaurants. We cozy up in our Suite as Ashland Hills is not just a room,but is two rooms plus tiny kitchen.I make dinner with microwave and we settle in with our dogs and son, sweet conversation flows.We are out of the heat and theater crowds and in cool quiet bliss.Till next time,Ashland Hills,Thanks Danielle and George!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When I booked this property for a trip to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival (fabulous!), this property was part of the Windmill Suites (very small) hotel franchise. Since I really enjoy staying at their other properties, I booked this reservation with complete confidence. I was very surprised upon check-in to immediately note the difference in amenities and customer service.

First, general info - the hotel is right off the 5, so it is easy to get to, with on/off freeway access. However, it is quite a ways away from the main drag, which is where the action is. You MUST have a car to drive back and forth. Downtown parking is rather scarce, so that is problematic. Most visitors arrive by bus or car, but if you stayes closer to town, you can walk all over. "Town" is literally two long streets, so you will walk, regardless.

I interacted with three different front desk staff members, and all three looked like they desperately wished to be somewhere else. Although I tried, I could not even get a smile from any of them. They looked bored out of their wits and were reluctant to answer any questions or offer any assistance.

The property is huge, but there were very few guests staying there, and most of the hotel was shut down. There was not the usual free, full Windmill breakfast offered, just a breakfast basket that one could order that is brought up to the room in the morning. For 3 out of the four days, it consisted of 2 slices of bread (!), jams, a banana, an orange, a granola bar, and your choice of coffee or tea. The tea was Lipton. One day we received an English muffin. In each suite is a toaster, a microwave oven, and a small fridge, so one could purchase food and prep it in the room if they wished. The room was very nice, with an uber-comfy Heavenly-style bed. The price was reasonable, but I booked it during a Windmill Inn special, so I don't know what the regular rate is.

Maybe my stay would have rated a better review if I hadn't thought it was going to be comparable to a stay in a familiar hotel franchise. The rooms were just as nice, I didn't see a pool, and the fitness center was the same - a room converted over with a treadmill and a TV. What was so great about the Tucson Windmill Inn was the stellar customer service and awesome, full breakfast and service. If I had not stayed there previously and thought I was traveling to another franchise, maybe this would have been okay. All in all, Ashland Hills was rather disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided. Our family-owned company has just purchased this property that has been partially closed for the last 5 years. During that time it was known as the Village Suites. Changes are being applied daily and any customer feedback is always very appreciated.
Our plans include renovating and opening the entire property with over 200 guest rooms, a conference center, a restaurant and lounge in June 2014. In the meantime, we hope our guests enjoy all-suites building that overlooks beautiful hills of Ashland. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and enjoying our newly remodeled Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Comfy beds and pillows, could run air conditioner all night, not too loud, good water pressure, nice front desk. Great views. Very quiet.

Kitchen kit with bowls, plates, spoons, salt pepper, dish towels, eating utensils, free breakfast delivers to door.

Kitchenette has small fridge, microwaved, toaster.

The only problem was tons of light coming through edges of blackout curtains making it hard to sleep for my two boys.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The suite is probably the largest accommodation we have had in Ashland and is comfortable and clean. We thought we were getting a queen bed, but it seemed to be a double, therefore just a little cramped but otherwise comfortable. The breakfast basket is a nice touch. We were there for the Shakespeare festival and so would have liked to be closer, but we had no problems parking. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We discovered Ashland Hills hotel two years ago and have stayed twice. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. There is plenty of room to spread out. It is nice to have a separate room to watch TV or use your computer. The kitchenette is very convenient. The breakfast is delivered to your room. Breakfast is not that great, but at least you can eat in your room, or make your own in the kitchenette. Depending on your room, you might even get a lovely bucolic view. We go to Ashland annually and plan making this our place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at this hotel both with the current and previous owners. It is perfect for travelers with pets with lots of walking area. The rooms are an excellent value, spacious and clean. We always stay here when visiting Ashland or traveling through. Anxious to see the renovations that will take place with new ownership.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful, well appointed and located welcoming hotel, this is it! Our suite room was comfortable and allowed my husband to snooze while I watched TV in a different room. Our big collie dog had plenty of room to run around, including a large, safe and well landscaped dog run area right behind our room. The accommodations were easily as good as other places we have stayed that cost twice as much.

The other reviewers who were spooked by the sprawling set of buildings at Ashland Hills just needed to walk around to see what the buildings were---well tended but not used additional parts of the hotel. The place is not at full occupancy, but that is part of the draw. I for one hope it never gets fully discovered!

We are sure to come here again. In our drives from the North Bay of CA up to Eugene OR, AHH is an excellent midway stop on the drive north.

Room Tip: Ask for the kitchen box. It has glasses, plates, silverware and even cloth napkins. It made our tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.