We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet and people friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ashland Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Ashland
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Pet and people friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This newly managed refurbished hotel is quite a find. The rooms are all suites with two tv's, microwave, mini fridge, complimentary 24/7 coffee, cookies and pet treats at checkin, apples, complimentary breakfast snack, large pet area for the dogs, and friendly helpful staff. We stayed for two nights, checked out and then decided to stay an extra night in ashland to attend another play, so checked back in for another night. It is a short drive to downtown Ashland, but is located right off I-5 for easy access.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
35
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has recently changed management, I believe, and name. The value is great.We had a large suite-two separate rooms for a very reasonable price in comparison to other accommodations in Ashland. The suite looked recently refurbished. There is a minimal breakfast that is brought to the room at the guest's requested time.

Room Tip: Get room on third flooring back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This lodging is located away from the downtown area of Ashland otherwise the remodel of our room was satisfactory. The delivery of the morning basic breakfast was a bit unusual but OK. It was nice to have two rooms, unexpected and welcomed. There is no swimming pool, no spa, ect, but there was tennis courts. This is a dog friendly lodging and we would rather not have been in a room that had dogs romping on the beds prior to our arrival.

Room Tip: the property is under remodel, so pick accordingly there is no restaurant and you must drive to down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our first stay was A-OK and rates a big Woof! This is the former Windmill and under new management. Right off I-5 with restaurant and gas stations adjacent yet relatively green and no noise to speak of. Rooms of sufficient size and mini-kitchen if you need that sort of thing. Stay on first floor with couryard access for fido's needs. A grassy area for that and no car traffic issues. They also provide a great little breakfast basket if you need to be on your way early. A pleasant find and good night sleep.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, let me say that management needs to contact Trip Advisor to change the property listing name to "Ashland Hills Hotel Suites" and also change their gigantic "Windmill Inn" freeway sign to avoid creating needless confusion. They should also consider changing reservation services, as ours on Booking.com was lost and we were told that his had happened several times before as well. No worries though, we finally found the place and the friendly staff quickly remedied the reservation problem. Now on to the review.....

Don't be put off by the appearance at the entrance. Drive on down to the office and get a room - You'll be pleasantly surprised! This large complex was apparently a Windmill Inn until fairly recently. It has multiple buildings and what appears to have been a thriving conference center. Someone spent a bundle on it all and it was obviously a very nice place. Now however the conference center and many of the buildings are closed. It appears to us that it may have gone into foreclosure and is being operated by someone new.

That someone new, clearly knows what they are doing. They've taken the best building of the complex (which has stunning views of the beautiful hills on one side and a pleasantly park-like courtyard on the other), and opened it again for business. We found the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was satisfactory in all respects and the WiFi worked well. The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the room included a desk (always appreciated) and a small but useable kitchen, which would make it quite suitable for longer stays.

As countless others also do, we almost always stay over in Ashland to break up a trip to California on I-5. We've stayed a number of places over the years and have never really been disappointed. Ashland is a fun, upscale kind of place with lots of nice shops, good coffee, restaurants, and of course the renowned Shakespearean Festival. If you've got the time, it's a nice place to spend a day or two. This hotel is a little farther from town (we'd guess a bit more than a mile), but also a much better price than the closer places. We saved enough on the room to pay for a nice breakfast at Morning Glory (Highly recommended!), and that's a win in our book! In short, we liked this place and would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were very positive surprised by this property. A few people here noted that it is hard to find the lobby, but we had no problems as it is really well signed out where the lobby is. Check in was speedy and we received our fresh baked cookies and were asked to sign up for the free breakfast which they send to your room at the time you tell them. Our room was on the third floor and looked out onto the fields and was very spacious. A few minutes after we were in the room, the front desk called to check if we have anything, great customer service. For the rate we paid (military discount $82) this room was enormous! Separate sitting room and bedroom, the bed was so big and was very comfortable. The hotel is very quiet and we enjoyed a good sleep. In the morning at 8 am they brought the basket with the breakfast to our room and we were surprised how good it was. Coffee, granola bar , fruit, butter, jam, orange juice and English muffin. I can only recommend to stay here when in Ashland!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the hotel is that there is a large portion of the complex that is not occupied. The "lobby" required a bit of hunting to locate but a new lobby is apparently being built. Staff was very friendly and had good suggestions for restaurants. While not located near Ashland's major attractions, the hotel has good access from the highway. The best attribute of the hotel (as it should be) was the room. We had a large suite with a massive, very comfortable bed (perhaps the largest we've ever slept in). Two TVs, a sofa and a kitchenette. We also had a decent continental breakfast that was delivered to our room. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashland Hills Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 14 acres the hotel boasts panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, intimate courtyard patio and spacious 2-room suites featuring: in room coffee and tea • complimentary Wi-Fi Internet • microwave & minifridge • dual vanities • extra pillows • sleeper sofa in living room • large color TV • expanded cable selection including free premium channel • iron and board • hair dryer • voicemail • automated wake up calls • key-card security • 24 hour video security. Patios or balconies in select suites.Other amenities and services include: breakfast snack featuring hot beverage, juice, muffin and newspaper delivered to your suite each morning • Fitness room • Business center • Bicycles for guests use • Coffee, tea & apples available 24 hours • Media lending library (books/DVDs) • Guest laundry • Accessible facilities available • Staff on site 24 hours • Children under 18 stay free • Corporate & Group rates • Long-term stay rates • Senior & AAA rates • pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;