We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite place to stay in Ashland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Renovated Rooms!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A new favorite place to stay in Ashland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, let me say that management needs to contact Trip Advisor to change the property listing name to "Ashland Hills Hotel Suites" and also change their gigantic "Windmill Inn" freeway sign to avoid creating needless confusion. They should also consider changing reservation services, as ours on Booking.com was lost and we were told that his had happened several times before as well. No worries though, we finally found the place and the friendly staff quickly remedied the reservation problem. Now on to the review.....

Don't be put off by the appearance at the entrance. Drive on down to the office and get a room - You'll be pleasantly surprised! This large complex was apparently a Windmill Inn until fairly recently. It has multiple buildings and what appears to have been a thriving conference center. Someone spent a bundle on it all and it was obviously a very nice place. Now however the conference center and many of the buildings are closed. It appears to us that it may have gone into foreclosure and is being operated by someone new.

That someone new, clearly knows what they are doing. They've taken the best building of the complex (which has stunning views of the beautiful hills on one side and a pleasantly park-like courtyard on the other), and opened it again for business. We found the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was satisfactory in all respects and the WiFi worked well. The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the room included a desk (always appreciated) and a small but useable kitchen, which would make it quite suitable for longer stays.

As countless others also do, we almost always stay over in Ashland to break up a trip to California on I-5. We've stayed a number of places over the years and have never really been disappointed. Ashland is a fun, upscale kind of place with lots of nice shops, good coffee, restaurants, and of course the renowned Shakespearean Festival. If you've got the time, it's a nice place to spend a day or two. This hotel is a little farther from town (we'd guess a bit more than a mile), but also a much better price than the closer places. We saved enough on the room to pay for a nice breakfast at Morning Glory (Highly recommended!), and that's a win in our book! In short, we liked this place and would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    49
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
61
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were very positive surprised by this property. A few people here noted that it is hard to find the lobby, but we had no problems as it is really well signed out where the lobby is. Check in was speedy and we received our fresh baked cookies and were asked to sign up for the free breakfast which they send to your room at the time you tell them. Our room was on the third floor and looked out onto the fields and was very spacious. A few minutes after we were in the room, the front desk called to check if we have anything, great customer service. For the rate we paid (military discount $82) this room was enormous! Separate sitting room and bedroom, the bed was so big and was very comfortable. The hotel is very quiet and we enjoyed a good sleep. In the morning at 8 am they brought the basket with the breakfast to our room and we were surprised how good it was. Coffee, granola bar , fruit, butter, jam, orange juice and English muffin. I can only recommend to stay here when in Ashland!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the hotel is that there is a large portion of the complex that is not occupied. The "lobby" required a bit of hunting to locate but a new lobby is apparently being built. Staff was very friendly and had good suggestions for restaurants. While not located near Ashland's major attractions, the hotel has good access from the highway. The best attribute of the hotel (as it should be) was the room. We had a large suite with a massive, very comfortable bed (perhaps the largest we've ever slept in). Two TVs, a sofa and a kitchenette. We also had a decent continental breakfast that was delivered to our room. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We love this place. It is handy to get to once you leave the freeway, and handy for heading out for restaurants for dinner. There are "pets allowed" rooms and mostly "no pets" rooms. We stayed in a pet room with our cat this month. When we first arrived we had the smell of the carpet having just been cleaned. We put the bathroom vent on and cracked the bedroom and living room windows. When we got back from dinner, the air was just fine.
We like that all of the rooms are suites, so it feels spacious. The housekeepers do a great job. Parking is very handy to whatever building you are in. We have been on the back side and there is zero noise at night. I don't know how the front of the building would be for noise because we've never been there. The room rate is excellent. This month our suite was $87+ local tax. In 2013, that's pretty good.

Room Tip: The bed was so comfortable that my husband plans to call them to find out what the mattress brand is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
“We Keep Coming Back!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased your stay was comfortable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times on our way to or from California. We like the fact that they take pets at no extra charge and supply treats and clean up bags. The unit is very comfortable with a great bed, TVs in both "living" room and bedroom.The staff is very helpful and friendly. They provide a morning breakfast at your time schedule. We've only stayed when arriving late and leaving early but I think it is perfect for longer stays. I've been to Ashland previously and I think it would be perfect for a stay while attending the plays. The only suggestion I would make to travelers staying longer would be to bring your own toiletries and cooking utensils. The have toiletries, a microwave and coffee maker (as well as 24 hour coffee available), but if I were staying longer, I'd like more stuff.

Room Tip: Since we have a pet, we are always on the first floor. This is the first time we've faced the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
“Great stopover, wish I could stay longer!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable bed and the amenities offered in our suite.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This motel is comfortable and off the beaten track a bit from downtown Ashland. It is quiet and clean. It is a very good value compared with hotels and B&B's that are closer to the Playhouses. We drove to the three performances that we saw this trip but several folks claimed that they walked from the motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
“See a play and stay here”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay at our Ashland location!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 100 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.