We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest quality and service...an unmistakeably unique inn that cannot be overlooked.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Winchester Inn to your Saves list
The Winchester Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   35 South Second St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 35 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highest quality and service...an unmistakeably unique inn that cannot be overlooked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are experienced travelers. In 30 years of traveling in the US and abroad....the quality of the service is excellent. The Inn has an extremely professional and congenial wait staff. The king bedroom was perfect and the mattress very supportive. The complimentary breakfast was 5-star restaurant quality with impeccable service. AND location is only 2 blocks from the Shakespeare theaters!!!! Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Owner at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! The staff takes great pride in being able to offer such service. I hope you have a chance to join us again soon!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    19
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
124
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Located in a charming Oregon town, just a five minute walk from the Shakespeare Festival complex, the Winchester offers a fine mix of comfortable accommodation, superior cuisine and top-line Oregon wines. Rooms are spacious, not overburdened by the twee Victoriana so common in East Coast B&Bs. Staff and owners -- all personable and helpful -- operate the Winchester as a boutique inn so there's no forced interaction with other visitors, and the restaurant attracts guests from the Inn and from without.

Rooms, of course, vary. Ours was well-maintained and comfortable but perhaps not one of the best in house.

I can't say the Winchester is the best in Ashland, because this was my first trip. Given that I'll almost certainly stay there again, that's a judgement I'm happy not to make.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This B & B is only one and a half blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival theaters. The room we had was spacious with a living room and bedroom. Happily, it had a refrigerator and makings for coffee and tea. The bathroom has been updated, though the shower does not have a grab bar. With quite a few older people staying here, it would be a good addition. The bed is very comfortable with lovely linens. The other furniture, though, is a bit tired.
The turndown service was not as consistent as it should be. One night, only the bed was turned down, but nothing else was tidied.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfasts are visual and taste treats, with attentive service.
Though a person with a cane or walker could manage, there are stairs to the bar and restaurant and to a number of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There were a number of nice touches in the room. It is an older property, so I think they've done pretty well with it. A bit of an awkward walk to the dining room in the rain. We lucked out in being able to park near our room, but I could see that we easily could have had to walk quite a distance had we not. We ordered a cheese plate in our room. I thought it was lovely, nice cheeses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Catharine M room. Second story in the heritage bldg. The room & bath were very spacious and super clean. It had a balconly (however, it's shared with the room next door, so not private, if that matters to you). The queen bed was very comfortable and the linens were very high quality. The hotel was full, but you never heard anyone from the room. Great insulation. Very attentive, nice staff. They deliver sweets to your room in the afternoon, and also offer turn down service. The hotel bar is top notch. Say "hi" to Owen the mixologist. The included breakfast was unique and very delicious too. They truly take everything to the next level at the Winchester Inn and still maintain that friendly, unpretentious atmosphere. We've already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the Eleanor Rose suite and were very happy with our choice. Very nice room that is on the top floor, wonderful bed and large quarters. Loved the bar for early reading and late drinking and visiting. The staff was attentive to our needs and very helpful in our daily plans. Everything was within walking distance and so the car remained parked. The breakfast was fabulous with multiple choices, beautifully presented and delicious. The Alchemy was a wonderful experience and supported by a wonder staff. We loved the boutique inn feel of this property and felt part of the company and yet able to retreat to our quarters for privacy. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a wonderful stay in Ashland, Oregon and a few short blocks away from the Shakespeare Festival. Our room was wonderfully appointed; The Patio Room. It did include a flat screen TV as I understand that some rooms do not. The bed was super comfortable with soft linens. There is a wet bar, sink, and fridge in the room stocked with water, drinks, and wines. I also enjoyed the shower as it had duel heads. The breakfast (included in the stay) was WONDERFUL!! We sat in the courtyard and enjoyed coffee, fresh fruits and a wonderful take on eggs Benedict served in an artichoke base. I would recommend this inn for those attending the Shakespeare Festival. If you walk down the block, there are also various shops and it is quite charming. We had a very lovely stay and plan a return. We might check out some of the other rooms. You will also love the courtyard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#8 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
13.7 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#1 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Inn

Address: 35 South Second St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winchester Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Inn offers luxury accommodations, affordable excellence, the restaurant features local ingredients with global inspiration, craft cocktails and boutique wines. We are the only Wine Spectator Award Winning restaurant in Ashland as well as the only restaurant with a Certified Sommelier on staff. Top Chef of 2012 - Pamela Lanier's B&B Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Winchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.