We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked our next stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Winchester Inn to your Saves list
The Winchester Inn
35 South Second St., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Redding, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Already booked our next stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Catharine M room. Second story in the heritage bldg. The room & bath were very spacious and super clean. It had a balconly (however, it's shared with the room next door, so not private, if that matters to you). The queen bed was very comfortable and the linens were very high quality. The hotel was full, but you never heard anyone from the room. Great insulation. Very attentive, nice staff. They deliver sweets to your room in the afternoon, and also offer turn down service. The hotel bar is top notch. Say "hi" to Owen the mixologist. The included breakfast was unique and very delicious too. They truly take everything to the next level at the Winchester Inn and still maintain that friendly, unpretentious atmosphere. We've already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
107
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the Eleanor Rose suite and were very happy with our choice. Very nice room that is on the top floor, wonderful bed and large quarters. Loved the bar for early reading and late drinking and visiting. The staff was attentive to our needs and very helpful in our daily plans. Everything was within walking distance and so the car remained parked. The breakfast was fabulous with multiple choices, beautifully presented and delicious. The Alchemy was a wonderful experience and supported by a wonder staff. We loved the boutique inn feel of this property and felt part of the company and yet able to retreat to our quarters for privacy. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a wonderful stay in Ashland, Oregon and a few short blocks away from the Shakespeare Festival. Our room was wonderfully appointed; The Patio Room. It did include a flat screen TV as I understand that some rooms do not. The bed was super comfortable with soft linens. There is a wet bar, sink, and fridge in the room stocked with water, drinks, and wines. I also enjoyed the shower as it had duel heads. The breakfast (included in the stay) was WONDERFUL!! We sat in the courtyard and enjoyed coffee, fresh fruits and a wonderful take on eggs Benedict served in an artichoke base. I would recommend this inn for those attending the Shakespeare Festival. If you walk down the block, there are also various shops and it is quite charming. We had a very lovely stay and plan a return. We might check out some of the other rooms. You will also love the courtyard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 10years. True , warm hospitality, delicious breakfasts, great wine selections and welcoming bar, Lovely, comfortable rooms, well kept, charming gardens. Walking distance to theater. The owners really care.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the Fordyce room. Top notch. We requested wine and truffles, and they were waiting for us upon our arrival. We also ate in their dining room,now called Alchemy. The dinner was excellent. The staff was aware of our plans to attend a play, and they made the dining experience very delightful. The chef is quite talented. It is a superb menu, we felt like we were eating in a 5 star restaurant. Breakfast was also amazing. This is a great B & B.

Room Tip: Ask the managers for the best rooms. They won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a high quality inn. We had the Sylvan Room and the Garden Room, both on the second floor. They were very nicely furnished, very well maintained, and quiet. I believe that all the bathrooms in the Inn were remodeled recently, and they are quite nice (our sinks were in the bedroom to make more room for the new shower and toilet).

The restaurant also seems to have been remodeled recently and looks very upscale. Breakfast was among the best that I have had at a B&B, and service was also excellent.

The owners are actively involved in running the inn, whether working at the front desk or serving in the restaurant, which is always a big plus.

One small complaint is that the rooms were pretty chilly by morning, no doubt due to thin insulation common in buildings of this age. But the modern wall heater/AC warmed up the room quickly in the morning (but was too noisy to leave on all night). Also, the window shades were not operable on all the windows.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter. If you need a quiet room, be sure to ask about that when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excellent overall. The staff and room were incredibly beautfiul! However, I felt that my stay could've been greatly enhanced by the addition of cookies in the afternoon. At a previous B & B, the cookies they served were not only delicious, but made me feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Inn

Address: 35 South Second St., Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Inn offers luxury accommodations, affordable excellence, the restaurant features local ingredients with global inspiration, craft cocktails and boutique wines. We are the only Wine Spectator Award Winning restaurant in Ashland as well as the only restaurant with a Certified Sommelier on staff. Top Chef of 2012 - Pamela Lanier's B&B Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Winchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.