We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great honeymoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast
570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 Ashland B&B and Inns
Chico, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great honeymoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We traveled from Chico to Ashland on our wedding night last weekend, arriving at the Shrew's House about 10:30 PM for our little 2-day honeymoon. Our cottage was left unlocked for us, and we found a sweet note from the owners welcoming us. In the morning, we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with the other guests and ventured out to explore, returning in the afternoon for some rest and quiet before dinner and the theater. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, the hosts are very gracious, the food is excellent, and we enjoyed our stay very much--a great end to the excitement of the wedding, and a beautiful to start to our new life together. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The vegetarian options for breakfast were soooooo good, and there is meat too for the carnivores. We were three generations staying briefly (2 nights) in Ashland as part of a road trip to take my daughter to college. I have been in many B&Bs before, and this one is notable for its friendly and theater-knowledgeable hosts, delicious breakfasts ( including vegetarian) and its convenient location (about a 10 minute walk from the theaters).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our stay at The Shrew's House made our trip like more than just a quick weekend getaway. We felt special and pampered. We also felt pretty smart for having chosen to stay there! We had an extremely clean, private and comfortable room and bed, stimulating conversation with other guests and the hosts, and great food served al fresco. Ronna and Corren were so warm, gracious, friendly and intelligent. They know a lot about the plays and enjoy discussing them. A swim in the pool was delicious in the heat of the late afternoon to cool off before dinner. The house is a short walk from the theater and restaurants. After watching a play it felt good to stroll under the stars back to our room, talking about what we had just seen. We feel like we hit the jackpot when we chose The Shrew's House to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had the most wonderful experience staying at the Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast. The place was very clean and well appointed. The host and hostess were warm, engaging and incredibly helpful. There was a full hot, delicious breakfast every morning. They went out of their way to accommodate my husband's food allergies. This place even has a very clean, pleasant pool that we took advantage of on the hot summer afternoon. Our room had a small fridge and kitchenette so we could put in cold drinks and fruit and heat up a cup of tea. Shrew's House is close to the Shakespeare Festival and if you are ambitious, you could walk there. This is the perfect place to stay in Ashland. Hope we get to come back soon.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms to choose from. Our room, near the pool felt very private. All have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here before the present owners, and enjoyed the privacy of the unit. Ronna and Corren have done an exceptional upgrading of the rooms, adding to the comfort and attractiveness. We were in the smallest unit, yet it met all our needs and had a big bathroom. They are like old friends, full of fun and interesting conversation. They welcomed comments, and when I sent a suggestion later, they lived up to their claim. Yes, the pool is small, more a dipping pool, but that is most welcome in the heat of Ashland summer. Good air conditioning too.

This is the perfect spot for people who want complete quiet, no creaking of steps or noise from the next room, as well as a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We loved everything about The Shrew House. Sitting outside in the sun eating breakfast was wonderful. And coming back to the pool after watching a play was a great way to end the day. We look forward to making The Shrew House our first choice in lodging in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Ronna and Corren were fantastic hosts, making us feel immediately welcome in their comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast in Ashland, Oregon. We felt completely at home as they are genuinely interested in creating an atmosphere where you feel at ease - as if you've known them for years. They went out of their way to make sure that my dietary needs (gluten intolerent) were met with delicious breakfasts and specially prepared oatmeal bars - yum! They generously let us include our daughter, who wasn't staying there, come for breakfast one morning. When we had to leave early on departure, they packed us a special "picnic" breakfast to take on the road. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy in a garden setting.Spacious rooms w/private outside entrances.A/C,refrigerator,microwave,WiFi,king beds.Swimming pool,full satisfying breakfast.Five blocks to theaters. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list