We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 37 Ashland B&B and Inns
Penngrove, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Private and casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here before the present owners, and enjoyed the privacy of the unit. Ronna and Corren have done an exceptional upgrading of the rooms, adding to the comfort and attractiveness. We were in the smallest unit, yet it met all our needs and had a big bathroom. They are like old friends, full of fun and interesting conversation. They welcomed comments, and when I sent a suggestion later, they lived up to their claim. Yes, the pool is small, more a dipping pool, but that is most welcome in the heat of Ashland summer. Good air conditioning too.

This is the perfect spot for people who want complete quiet, no creaking of steps or noise from the next room, as well as a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We loved everything about The Shrew House. Sitting outside in the sun eating breakfast was wonderful. And coming back to the pool after watching a play was a great way to end the day. We look forward to making The Shrew House our first choice in lodging in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Ronna and Corren were fantastic hosts, making us feel immediately welcome in their comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast in Ashland, Oregon. We felt completely at home as they are genuinely interested in creating an atmosphere where you feel at ease - as if you've known them for years. They went out of their way to make sure that my dietary needs (gluten intolerent) were met with delicious breakfasts and specially prepared oatmeal bars - yum! They generously let us include our daughter, who wasn't staying there, come for breakfast one morning. When we had to leave early on departure, they packed us a special "picnic" breakfast to take on the road. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Shrew's House is an incredible find. We were immediately welcomed by Roger, the friendly feline greeter and Ronna and Corren our superb hosts. The very clean room was just right with a comfortable bed, tasteful decor and a great jet tub. All rooms are to the back of the main part of the house and the street noise is minimal. The pool was heavenly and warm and what a surprise bonus for a B & B! The 6ish block walk to the Shakespeare Festival was very nice although I suppose some might find it far. My friend and I found it perfect after sitting through a play. Bread pudding with fresh fruit and sausage was served for breakfast and we enjoyed the conversation of the guests and the great stories offered by Ronna and Corren. It was fun to share impressions of the plays with others. I had e-mailed them only one day prior to our arrival to warn them that I was a vegetarian and they graciously served me a delicious veggie sausage patty. I was very sad not to stay longer in order to enjoy the pool and the lush grounds more. We hope to return next year. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We only had one night to spare, but wish we had had more. The hosts were most accommodating regarding our dietary (vegetarian) request. It was also great that they joined in the breakfast conversation and made it feel like a meal among friends. Our room was beautiful and roomy, with a sitting area, a very comfortable king bed, even a small refrigerator and microwave. The property is on the main street through Ashland, close to restaurants and theater venues. (We didn't hear any street noise at night, though.) We will return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

No place works for everyone and Shrew's House did not not work for us. It has small rooms, small breakfasts and a small pool. Wi-Fi only works in the main house, not in some of the rooms. It is directly on the main street through town with associated noise and light, though Ashland is a quiet town. Seems like the innkeepers may be losing their enthusiasm for B &B life. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhileman, Owner at Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2009
We agree with “Picky in Olympia” that an inn cannot be the right setting for every guest. When the couple arrived, one of them appeared in a panic about street light entering their room. We provided special curtains for him. It would have been wise if they had alerted us about this special need before their visit.
Our housekeeping is always meticulous. However, for these guests we had to change bed linen four times in a six day stay, to remove the chocolate and makeup that were smeared into the sheets.
During a hot spell, they continued to set their thermostat below 65 degrees. The heat pump for our cottage fell into disrepair largely as a result of the continued low settings in their room. They ignored the repairman who advised them to keep their thermostat at 72 degrees during the daytime hours when the weather is above 100 degrees.
Upon arrival “Picky in Olympia” asked us to provide an separate earlier breakfast everyday because one of them would be attending a conference. We were happy to provide this extra service. We also adjusted the food provided when asked.
We offer a warm welcome to all reasonable and considerate guests.

Ronna & Corren Hileman
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at this very cute B&B while visiting Ashland, Oregon. This place is not far from the OSF and is a nice walk before and after plays - with many restaurants nearby. We stayed in Kate's Retreat - GREAT room (actually it has two rooms). The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful - and kept us full until dinner. Our hosts were so warm and welcoming and helped to make our stay so great - we hated to leave. There is a pool on the property and a lovely garden to sit and enjoy - or just rest your feet. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy in a garden setting.Spacious rooms w/private outside entrances.A/C,refrigerator,microwave,WiFi,king beds.Swimming pool,full satisfying breakfast.Five blocks to theaters. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.