We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Ashland B&B and Inns
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Ronna and Corren were fantastic hosts, making us feel immediately welcome in their comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast in Ashland, Oregon. We felt completely at home as they are genuinely interested in creating an atmosphere where you feel at ease - as if you've known them for years. They went out of their way to make sure that my dietary needs (gluten intolerent) were met with delicious breakfasts and specially prepared oatmeal bars - yum! They generously let us include our daughter, who wasn't staying there, come for breakfast one morning. When we had to leave early on departure, they packed us a special "picnic" breakfast to take on the road. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Shrew's House is an incredible find. We were immediately welcomed by Roger, the friendly feline greeter and Ronna and Corren our superb hosts. The very clean room was just right with a comfortable bed, tasteful decor and a great jet tub. All rooms are to the back of the main part of the house and the street noise is minimal. The pool was heavenly and warm and what a surprise bonus for a B & B! The 6ish block walk to the Shakespeare Festival was very nice although I suppose some might find it far. My friend and I found it perfect after sitting through a play. Bread pudding with fresh fruit and sausage was served for breakfast and we enjoyed the conversation of the guests and the great stories offered by Ronna and Corren. It was fun to share impressions of the plays with others. I had e-mailed them only one day prior to our arrival to warn them that I was a vegetarian and they graciously served me a delicious veggie sausage patty. I was very sad not to stay longer in order to enjoy the pool and the lush grounds more. We hope to return next year. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We only had one night to spare, but wish we had had more. The hosts were most accommodating regarding our dietary (vegetarian) request. It was also great that they joined in the breakfast conversation and made it feel like a meal among friends. Our room was beautiful and roomy, with a sitting area, a very comfortable king bed, even a small refrigerator and microwave. The property is on the main street through Ashland, close to restaurants and theater venues. (We didn't hear any street noise at night, though.) We will return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

No place works for everyone and Shrew's House did not not work for us. It has small rooms, small breakfasts and a small pool. Wi-Fi only works in the main house, not in some of the rooms. It is directly on the main street through town with associated noise and light, though Ashland is a quiet town. Seems like the innkeepers may be losing their enthusiasm for B &B life. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhileman, Owner at Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2009
We agree with “Picky in Olympia” that an inn cannot be the right setting for every guest. When the couple arrived, one of them appeared in a panic about street light entering their room. We provided special curtains for him. It would have been wise if they had alerted us about this special need before their visit.
Our housekeeping is always meticulous. However, for these guests we had to change bed linen four times in a six day stay, to remove the chocolate and makeup that were smeared into the sheets.
During a hot spell, they continued to set their thermostat below 65 degrees. The heat pump for our cottage fell into disrepair largely as a result of the continued low settings in their room. They ignored the repairman who advised them to keep their thermostat at 72 degrees during the daytime hours when the weather is above 100 degrees.
Upon arrival “Picky in Olympia” asked us to provide an separate earlier breakfast everyday because one of them would be attending a conference. We were happy to provide this extra service. We also adjusted the food provided when asked.
We offer a warm welcome to all reasonable and considerate guests.

Ronna & Corren Hileman
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at this very cute B&B while visiting Ashland, Oregon. This place is not far from the OSF and is a nice walk before and after plays - with many restaurants nearby. We stayed in Kate's Retreat - GREAT room (actually it has two rooms). The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful - and kept us full until dinner. Our hosts were so warm and welcoming and helped to make our stay so great - we hated to leave. There is a pool on the property and a lovely garden to sit and enjoy - or just rest your feet. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We visited Shrew's House for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was quiet, clean, and nicely appointed. The jacuzzi tub was an extra bonus! Ronna & Coren were friendly but not overimposing, and their breakfasts were delicious. They really made everyone feel welcome at the breakfast table and conversations were lively.

It was a slightly farther walk than we are used to when we visit Ashland (10-15 minutes to the main theaters), but we didn't mind since the stroll goes by all the great shops & restaurants along the main street through town.

Overall, a lovely place to stay and we would go back again!

  • Liked — Great breakfast, friendly owners
  • Disliked — Farther from downtown than we like
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

If you don't have friends to visit in Ashland, you'll go home with some after a stay at Shrew's House. Coren and Ronna are excellent hosts and they've created a lovely, tranquil B&B -- a perfect place to stay if you enjoy scintillating conversation over breakfast, a nice walk to the theaters and downtown and a homey environment.

We stayed in the Baroque room, a large bedroom with a private bath (complete with jacuzzi tub), a front porch with table and chairs, and a fireplace. They provide some nice little extras -- wireless Internet access (inside the room it was sketchy but we were able to connect on the porch and other parts of the property) ; a small, unobtrusive TV; a small fridge, toaster oven and microwave; wine glasses and dishes. The rooms here are decorated with care but are blissfully free of teddy bears and cutesy touches. The property has a hot tub and a small pool -- great for cooling off on a hot day after a hike or a stroll through town.

Coren and Ronna serve an ample, homey breakfast (which varies day to day -- we had stuffed croissants and smoothies one morning, huevos rancheros another and baked shells filled with fruit and yogurt on a third). Coren puts heart into his cooking and is eager for feedback and suggestions.

Because each room has its own entrance you get plenty of privacy, but be warned: you will be expected to socialize at breakfast with other guests and/or your hosts. This might not be for everyone, but we thoroughly enjoyed the company each morning and got to feel like Coren and Ronna were old friends by the time we left.

I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this is up at the top of my list. Though I usually like to stay new places, I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Shrew's House again and again.

  • Liked — personable hosts, lovely surroundings, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 570 Siskiyou Blvd., Ashland, OR 97520
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy in a garden setting.Spacious rooms w/private outside entrances.A/C,refrigerator,microwave,WiFi,king beds.Swimming pool,full satisfying breakfast.Five blocks to theaters. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.